5 Replies - 1900 Views - Last Post: 14 July 2008 - 07:39 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Arrays in sql?

Post icon  Posted 12 July 2008 - 03:53 PM

Noob here again.. I'm learning about databases and could use a little help. I found a couple posts relating to this but I'm not sure which way to go...

C#
Visual Studio
MSSQL 2005

I'm creating an application to handle a customer database. I'll be using checkboxes for a few pieces of information, like 'active', 'contacted', 'repeat customer', or similar stuff- probably around 10 pieces of info. I could create different columns for each checkbox, but I was wondering if there would be any advantage to saving these as comma separated values into a single varchar column and using it as a string array. I haven't tried to write the code and I'm not asking anyone to write it for me, but before I dug into it I'd like to know if it's even a good idea. I want to learn best practices as much as possible.

Among other things, I'm wondering about;
-Is it very beneficial to limit the number of columns in a table whenever possible?
-Would it limit the queries I could do?
-Couldn't a single varchar column like this actually be larger than 10 bit columns?
-should I probably save 0/1 values instead of true/false?

I'm just guessing here, I'm like Tommy Boy learning to code... Anyone have a thought on this?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Arrays in sql?

#2 Martyr2  Icon User is online

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Arrays in sql?

Posted 12 July 2008 - 04:06 PM