• (4 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Deploying a C# application (Visual Studio Setup Project) How to deploy a C# application using Visual Studio Setup Project.

#46 sid_adil  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 23-June 11

Posted 23 June 2011 - 11:53 PM

Great tutorial thanks a lot

it would be appreciated if some one can tell me how to include SQL Server to a setup project and how to attach my .mdf file to it before installing the main application

thnx

Adil
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#47 scolty  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 27-April 11

Posted 12 January 2012 - 09:54 AM

Thanks for the tutorial.

Edit: Never mind, ive figured out how to now.

This post has been edited by scolty: 12 January 2012 - 10:01 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#48 blogwhodle  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 18-January 12

Posted 19 January 2012 - 06:16 PM

View Postriscy00, on 29 November 2009 - 01:27 PM, said:

This is very good presentation, I would like to ask how to

(a) Install application icon to replace the generic icon (the one that goes to explorer window and other that goes to window taskbar?
(B) How to make it to create shortcuts?
How to make it list program with in the program list of the start button (bottom LHS of the window explorer)

Much appericated.

A: You basically just change the icon on the thingy:
Posted Image
B:Right Click in Files View, Click the create new shourtcut.
Posted Image
Posted Image
C:You add it to the start menu section
Posted Image
Posted Image
:dots:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#49 Mathguy  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 21-February 12

Posted 21 February 2012 - 10:56 AM

View Postblogwhodle, on 19 January 2012 - 06:16 PM, said:

View Postriscy00, on 29 November 2009 - 01:27 PM, said:

This is very good presentation, I would like to ask how to

(a) Install application icon to replace the generic icon (the one that goes to explorer window and other that goes to window taskbar?
(B) How to make it to create shortcuts?
How to make it list program with in the program list of the start button (bottom LHS of the window explorer)

Much appericated.

A: You basically just change the icon on the thingy:
Posted Image
B:Right Click in Files View, Click the create new shourtcut.
Posted Image
Posted Image
C:You add it to the start menu section
Posted Image
Posted Image
:dots:


I also can't get the Start menu to display my newly installed program. I have tried many different things. I wasn't sure about what you are doing with the Appware folder in your response.

Shouldn't MS have made it a default to put the application in the Start menu?

Thanks for any help. I can produce screenshots from my app if required.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#50 scolty  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 27-April 11

Posted 21 February 2012 - 11:39 AM

You should have something like this in VS?? See red circle. Pretty sure thats where ur suppose to copy the file into. Sorry i cant be more help but dinner is getting cold.

Posted Image

This post has been edited by scolty: 21 February 2012 - 11:40 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#51 cammyj3  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: 12-June 12

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:52 AM

I have gone through the process of creating a setup as you have shown in this tutorial, and when I come to installing the program, it installs fine; in the Uninstall a program section I can see the program has been installed.

But I cannot find any files or traces of the actual program on my computer. Where is it, why has it not created a file to the users desktop as I have explicitly asked it to and have rebuilt the setup file.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#52 blogwhodle3  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 02-January 13

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:41 PM

idk I forgot my password and the email address and someone already took blogwhodle2, so this is blogwhodle3!


Mathguy: (This might be useless if you already figured it out since February)
Okay the Appware folder was just a fake company name I made up because that would be what it is. Now the pictures I posted aren't loading on my computer and I forgot what they were, so if this is the same thing as what I previously said, oh well.
  • You build your app (In the strange case you don't know how to do that: F6)
  • You add an Installer
  • You do what the tutorial said you should
  • you right click the project in the solution explorer or something like that and click "File System View" or whatever it says that seems like it has the same meaning.
  • You right click the target machine file system thingy and do the stuff to make sure that the "User's programs menu" is there like it should be.
  • You RIGHT CLICK the white empty space and make a shortcut. Now that you already have the "Primary Output" thing in the "Application Folder", you should be able to navigate to the Application folder and click on the Primary Output thing. Then you click the button that seems more logical to press, either the OK button or the Cancel button.
  • Once you do that there should be a shortcut to the primary output in the users programs menu. If you wanted to be cooler, instead of putting a shortcut in the applications folder, you can make a "new folder" and title it with your company name or something, and then put the shortcut inside of there.
  • To be epic, you can create a shortcut to the primary output in the applications folder JUST LIKE YOU DID BEFORE except do it in the User's Desktop.


cammyj3: (This might be useless if you already figured it out since June)
First of all, go to the original screen or whatever and add the dialog box that lets you choose an install location, then build your installer and run it and pick a location like your documents folder and see if it actually works or not.
Also, make sure that the primary output is in the applications folder in the file system view and that there is a shortcut in the desktop. If you could, please include details about your solution and the files in your file system view of your installer--IF you still need help
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#53 jack_eds  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 14

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:58 PM

Images files not found !!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#54 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

  • Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon




Reputation: 10814
  • View blog
  • Posts: 40,310
  • Joined: 27-December 08

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:59 PM

The OP hasn't been online since 2008 and the images weren't hosted on DIC. There really isn't anything we can do.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#55 C#aspgod  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 23-October 14

Posted 23 October 2014 - 01:55 AM

Please update the Screenshots !!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4