4 Replies - 10867 Views - Last Post: 30 July 2008 - 02:19 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 mare  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: -1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 14-August 07

connection between matlab and C#

Posted 22 July 2008 - 07:02 AM

Hi,I am doing some kind of data clustering,I use C# to get necessary data from my database,i.e matrix that represents my data.
Rows of that matrix represent words and columns represent documents,matrix is 1-0 matrix which means that ij element of matrix is 1 if i-th word appears in j-th document,and 0 otherwise. Then I use matlab 7.1 to analyze that data,i.e do some clustering.My question is:
after matlab groups my data(which is btw. very very large matrix) I would like to see which document is in which group?how can I do this using C#?I.e how can I accomplish this connection between matlab and C# program?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: connection between matlab and C#

#2 mare  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: -1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 14-August 07

Re: connection between matlab and C#

Posted 28 July 2008 - 02:07 AM

Anybody....?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 KyleG  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: 11-June 08

Re: connection between matlab and C#

Posted 28 July 2008 - 06:43 AM

This is where I'm confused:

View Postmare, on 22 Jul, 2008 - 09:02 AM, said:

I use C# to get necessary data from my database ...
Then I use matlab 7.1 to analyze that data ...
My question is: after matlab groups my data ...
... how can I accomplish this connection between matlab and C# program?


It sounds to me like you've already got an established connection between your C# program and matlab. How is matlab getting the data that your C# program pulls from the database?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 mare  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: -1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 14-August 07

Re: connection between matlab and C#

Posted 29 July 2008 - 05:13 AM

View PostKyleG, on 28 Jul, 2008 - 06:43 AM, said:

This is where I'm confused:

View Postmare, on 22 Jul, 2008 - 09:02 AM, said:

I use C# to get necessary data from my database ...
Then I use matlab 7.1 to analyze that data ...
My question is: after matlab groups my data ...
... how can I accomplish this connection between matlab and C# program?


It sounds to me like you've already got an established connection between your C# program and matlab. How is matlab getting the data that your C# program pulls from the database?


No,no I didn't connect matlab and C#.Sorry now I see it sounds misleading.I wrote my matrix into the matrix.txt,and I loaded it in matlab and have done some testing with it.So there is no linkage of my program with matlab.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Drakmyth  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 28-July 08

Re: connection between matlab and C#

Posted 30 July 2008 - 02:19 PM

I have never used matlab and actually know very little beyond its name, but I'm going to take a stab in the dark here anyway.

It sounds to me like you want to do one of the two scenarios below:
1.) Using C#, write a matlab plugin that generates this matrix and passes it directly into matlab without using an intermediate "matrix.txt" file.
2.) Generate "matrix.txt" in C#, send that file into matlab, have matlab doing something with that data and export another file (say, "output.txt"), and then use "output.txt" in a C# program.

I think you're leaning closer to the second scenario. Of course, as I know nothing about matlab, it may be that you can't create plugin's for it so the first scenario isn't even possible. I don't know. I'm just hoping to clear up what exactly you're asking so that people who know what they're talking about can help easier. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1