C versus C++

Should I concentrate on one?

Page 1 of 1

9 Replies - 996 Views - Last Post: 29 July 2008 - 10:59 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C versus C++

Post icon  Posted 27 July 2008 - 10:13 AM

I am just starting to learn to program in C on my own. How different is C from C++? Should I just concentrate on C for now or try to take in tidbits of both? If staying with just C, then when should one begin to delve into another language such as C++?

Thanks for your time.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C versus C++

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: C versus C++

Posted 27 July 2008 - 10:18 AM

If you choose to stay with C you should probably get to the point where you are fairly skilled with programming it before moving on to another language as they (C and C++) have enough differences that some companies require one over the other. I am no expert on this but I think C++ is progbably the way to start, as it is all object oriented (if you want it to be) you can do a lot of things that C would have a harder time with (though they are both capable of doing the exact same things if you are willing to work at it long enough).

That is just my personal prefference but I hope it helps.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 27 July 2008 - 10:48 AM

If your aim is that this study is a path to a professional career, keep in mind that there is an incredible amount of legacy code out there in C. The companies are slow to adopt a new language when they have invested so much in C. I would still recommend studying C++ because C is a subset of C++. There probably is much more code in C/C++ out there than just about any other language. After learning C++, it is not difficult to learn C.