Debate Chamber: Can Anyone Be An Artist?

i own paints, therefore i am an artist?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

23 Replies - 2029 Views - Last Post: 16 November 2002 - 11:56 AM

• 42. That's my final answer.
  • member icon

• View blog

Debate Chamber: Can Anyone Be An Artist?

Posted 14 November 2002 - 04:06 PM

i'm seriously curious as to what you all think of this artwork:

Mike Cina: Ornithology

Renown graphic artist Mike Cina found old prints from an ornitology book in a "junk shop" and drew over them with various media. they were then sold on Ebay for what i understand is a pretty good sum of cash. so can anyone be an artist? it seems that it may be possible.

*discuss*

*EDIT: i decided this would fit better as a CL debate chamber topic. moved to CL.*

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Debate Chamber: Can Anyone Be An Artist?

• Go Leafs

• View blog

Re: Debate Chamber: Can Anyone Be An Artist?

Posted 14 November 2002 - 04:55 PM

anybody can be an artist because art has so many forms

ie music, drawings, singing is also an art form. and even self expression can be an art form (acting)

anybody can be one, including a criminal (con artist) a petty thug (grafitti artist)

ANYBODY

but as for those pictures?

i could find a book in the trash and splater paint on em
that dont make it art
allmost no creativity went into that shit
and art MUST have creativity
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Dream.In.Force

• View blog

Posted 14 November 2002 - 05:13 PM

I'm sure Mike Cina and his buddies got a good laugh at the snobby trend whores who gobbled those "works of art" up.

Using the acclaim of ones name based on "branding" they created for themselves in other fields to sell shit products has some in his field rallying to the battle cry of "sell out", I'm sure.

"One mans trash, is anothers masterpiece." <- That speaks volumes in and of itself... In more than one way.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Go Leafs

• View blog