Are certifcates and degrees laughed at?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

28 Replies - 2012 Views - Last Post: 07 October 2011 - 12:55 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Are certifcates and degrees laughed at?

Post icon  Posted 02 August 2008 - 05:40 AM

I'm a guy pondering a radical shift. I'm a physician (M.D.) and I'm unhappy. Suffice to say the reasons I went into medicine are becoming progressively marginalized.

I'll spare you the why of why programming. Call it instinct. I'm just toying with an embryonic idea. Yes, I know I'd be looking at a pay-cut and that's OK. I may find a way to integrate the two. God knows there's a shrieking need for creative folk from inside the profession of medicine to drag medical computer science out of the 1980s.

Anyway, I digress. In the real world do employers/headhunters give a rip about degrees or certificates in programming?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Are certifcates and degrees laughed at?

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Are certifcates and degrees laughed at?

Posted 02 August 2008 - 06:15 AM

From what I've heard around here and other forums, a 4-year degree is very good to have, but certs aren't very important.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 August 2008 - 06:57 AM

Degrees are becoming progressively more important in the industry. 20 years ago, degrees were not a necessity at all (they themselves were in their infancy), but as the industry has grown, credentials like that are becoming the standard.

Like many things, a degree does not indicate talent per se, but some of the foundations taught in that degree program (proper design and engineering principles as an example) can be important.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 August 2008 - 08:52 AM

I'm a physician (M.D.) and I'm unhappy.