newb question

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

24 Replies - 2223 Views - Last Post: 03 December 2002 - 03:52 AM

#1 tEfLoN  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 29-November 02

newb question

Post icon  Posted 29 November 2002 - 12:29 PM

when using rowspan, would i use the rowspan when i get to the botom of the column of the rows i wanna connect?

thx in advance
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: newb question

#2 roger  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: 10-November 02

Re: newb question

Posted 29 November 2002 - 02:29 PM

if I understand the question correctly, you use rowspan when you want to make a long(vertical) cell in a column(or columns). the rowspan would equal the number of rows next to the long cell.

not sure if this is any help... :\
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Jbssfelix  Icon User is offline

  • the rating girls give me after sex:

Reputation: -1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,048
  • Joined: 19-April 02

Re: newb question

Posted 29 November 2002 - 04:22 PM

yeah, your question is kinda vague, but MAYBE to clarify, rowspan is kinda self explanitory, it spans the number of rows you tell it to, eg:
--------------------
|          |            |
| cell1   |  spans  |
|          |  two      |
|          |  rows    |
---------             |
|          |            |
|          |            |
| cell2   |            |
|          |            |
|          |            |
---------------------


eh, it's the best ascii drawing i could make...but i hope that clarifies
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 roger  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: 10-November 02

Re: newb question

Post icon  Posted 29 November 2002 - 04:37 PM

nice, felix. :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Jbssfelix  Icon User is offline

  • the rating girls give me after sex:

Reputation: -1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,048
  • Joined: 19-April 02

Re: newb question

Posted 29 November 2002 - 06:09 PM

hey, nobody ever said artisticness was required to be a web developer ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 roger  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: 10-November 02

Re: newb question

Posted 29 November 2002 - 08:12 PM

hehe. B) no, I was serious. that was a nice way to show the rowspan. :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Jbssfelix  Icon User is offline

  • the rating girls give me after sex:

Reputation: -1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,048
  • Joined: 19-April 02

Re: newb question

Posted 29 November 2002 - 08:59 PM

lol, well in that case, i charge by the hour on my work. That'll be $60. :lol: jk bro
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1876
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: newb question

Posted 29 November 2002 - 11:00 PM

I think the actual question here is the placement of the row span tag, and if I remember correctly from my HTML class, you put it at the top in the first <td> then every row after it is joined... but not 100% sure.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 tEfLoN  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 29-November 02

Re: newb question

Posted 30 November 2002 - 12:06 AM

hey, thx fellas, it was so long since i used it, i think i get it, in the case of that ascii drawing it would be ? ? ?
<table>
<tr>
<td>cell1</td>
<td rowspan=2> span 2 rows</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>cell 2 </td>
</tr>
</table>


???
i want to have a site in a month so i was messing around lycos.uk with making non forum pages with my forum, http://members.lycos...ormsprotest.php
i can't seem to see where i am going wrong, the overall headers and footers are longer then the table wich i have @ 600px, does ne1 know the satndard size for a page
sorry for all the newbish questions, i am frustrated and its 2 in the morning here.
o yea, would ne1 be able to tell me if they use ib forums,if it might be easier to use that as a start for a site. thx in advance
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 roger  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: 10-November 02

Re: newb question

Posted 30 November 2002 - 05:48 AM

yep, the table code looks good, tEf.

in the other page, the headers and footers are set to 100%, and the forum section is set to 70% surrounded by two 15% sections. you'd need to decide whether you want the left/right columns around your forum to extend up to your header, or get rid of them.

standard width would be 600-800px wide, I think. though as monitors and resolutions get bigger, that has started to change. best to keep it tight, though. most people are happy to scroll down, but hate to scroll across...

looks like the forums are phpBB, not invision. :(
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 tEfLoN  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 29-November 02

Re: newb question

Posted 30 November 2002 - 06:42 AM

thx for the info :D
yea i wanna switch to ibforums, i just heard of em' 2 days ago
will i be able to edit it? i had heard it is 1 file.
thx again :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 roger  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: 10-November 02

Re: newb question

Posted 30 November 2002 - 06:58 AM

they're easy to edit; and very easy to work with. if I can do it, anybody can! I just set one up for my church, and was able to change the header image, some of the buttons, and mess with the fonts in very little time. there are also a lot of resources for iB; skins and dev sets, etc.

cool. B)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 tEfLoN  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 29-November 02

Re: newb question

Posted 30 November 2002 - 01:39 PM

heh thx, im seting 1 up right now....if all goes well
appriciate all the help, i have 1 more question, i dont know if i should post a new topic but ill try here 1st, is there a way to center an image in a table to the bottom, or top
on that same link, see the mysql logo? its a lil off to the left and its not how id like it
i have written
 <td width="15%"><a href="http://www.mysql.com"><img valign="bottom" align="center" src="mysqllogo.png" border="0"></a></td>

if there is a way, im not schooled to it

again ty!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 roger  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: 10-November 02

Re: newb question

Posted 30 November 2002 - 01:43 PM

put the alignment tags in the TD tag:

<td width="15%" valign="bottom" align="center" border="0"><a href="http://www.mysql.com"><img src="mysqllogo.png" ></a></td>


see if that helps. B)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 tEfLoN  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 29-November 02

Re: newb question

Posted 30 November 2002 - 11:10 PM

WOW, TY!!! u rule!!!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2