Should I Change To Ruby?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

25 Replies - 5847 Views - Last Post: 05 October 2009 - 05:45 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Should I Change To Ruby?

Posted 02 February 2009 - 12:20 PM

View PostInkman, on 13 Oct, 2008 - 12:00 PM, said:

umm, I am new here and all, I do believe that the guy just said, no one language is better.

In, my school I got started out with a book on ruby, so far I think its a pain, but thats cause I don't have logic or something and I am a complete beginner, I don't even know how to ask questions (noone understands me). it just makes me want to smash my brains in.

i just soo understand you. hope someday i will be able to ask the questions properly. and the real pain is-as soon as you start learning one language there are milion more out there.

that can get pretty confusing. i feel that all i do is learning, and none of the languages i have studied i donno "inside out". i really dont know how many years that might take.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 08 February 2009 - 09:08 AM

yeah like i wanted to make iphone apps, so i started to learn objective c, sure i've never programmed in c before, but i did it anyway (gotta start somewhere) if you want to make a website, learn about dynamic webpages with AJAX, Javascript, PHP. If you want to make an application then learn java or c or something.

its true that a lot of languages are simliar such as java or ruby each can just be used differently to accomplish a certain goal under a large tree. so just learn java, and then when you have a different project you can easily transition onto a different language that is better suited for that project.

plus java is important to learn for many different reasons, so start there, plus it's not as "hard" as c.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 10 February 2009 - 05:25 PM

View PostKingbradley6, on 16 Aug, 2008 - 07:00 AM, said: