9 Replies - 1472 Views - Last Post: 19 August 2008 - 12:47 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Ak-Emm  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 08

Help with Forte for Java

Post icon  Posted 18 August 2008 - 07:29 AM

Ok this is my problem

i have created individual j-frames in forte
the main java frame

now my problem is im quite new to forte more used to Pascal

i need the java code for connecting individual j-frames ive searched through the net but only for Net beans which is a total different interface from forte

the code cannot be displayed due to its classified nature

the code is all i need and the steps whit your help people
this would help me finish the deadline research


thank you

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Help with Forte for Java

#2 1lacca  Icon User is offline

  • code.rascal
  • member icon

Reputation: 44
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,822
  • Joined: 11-August 05

Re: Help with Forte for Java

Posted 18 August 2008 - 08:30 AM

Could you specify a bit better how do you wish to connect your frames? (storing the others in member variables is usually a good idea)
If you mean a step-by-step tutorial for accomplishing this task specially from Forte, than you might have better chance on a Forte forum, because I can't remember anyone mentioned Forte in the recent IDE polls.
I used Forte back in the days, but unfortunately can't remember its GUI editor.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Ak-Emm  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 08

Re: Help with Forte for Java

Posted 18 August 2008 - 09:05 AM

View Post1lacca, on 18 Aug, 2008 - 08:30 AM, said:

Could you specify a bit better how do you wish to connect your frames? (storing the others in member variables is usually a good idea)
If you mean a step-by-step tutorial for accomplishing this task specially from Forte, than you might have better chance on a Forte forum, because I can't remember anyone mentioned Forte in the recent IDE polls.
I used Forte back in the days, but unfortunately can't remember its GUI editor.



That would really be helpful thanks
ive posted another one i'lltry to show the applets

what my problem is you see in forte unlike NetBeans
ive created a Main Frame and sub-frames in one package

now in the main frame the sub-frames can be accessed by clicking a button associated with it i.e let say you want to access your grades so you click the button (grades) should open the sub-frame in the same panel
with your grades

thats all just the process and connector code

ill try paste the applet to give a visual rep but im sure its straight forward ive tried it but ive got errors just trying to attempt the connectors

if theres a code like ahref in HTML as you know goes to the next page in the same window


Please if you may know any Forte for java forums would help
i appreciate it thanks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 nick2price  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 565
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,826
  • Joined: 23-November 07

Re: Help with Forte for Java

Posted 18 August 2008 - 03:25 PM

I have never used forte ide but i just assume your just talking about a standard JFrame. In your application, you should only really have 1 JFrame and everything else should be a dialog, this way you have a father-son relationship. This is an example of a constructor in one of my JFrame classes;
public Title1() 
{ 
super(); //superclassing the JFrame
initializeComponent(); //calling up method initializeComponent
} 



Then in the same class i have action events related to buttons which call up a dialog on top of my JFrame.
private void btnLogin_actionPerformed() 
{ 
log = new Login(this);
} 


I am passing my Login class an instance of my JFrame, then all i have to do is set up my constructor in my Login class to recieve this instance of the JFrame.
public Login(JFrame father) { //constructor which needs a father frame

super(father); //passing father frame to superclass of JDialog

}  


Not sure if this is what your looking for but hope it helps.

This post has been edited by nick2price: 18 August 2008 - 03:26 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Ak-Emm  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 08

Re: Help with Forte for Java

Posted 19 August 2008 - 07:35 AM

Yes something like that

but they cant be dialogues because each sub-frame has a function a (Mathematical function in this case of a finance solver )


The screenshots can illustrate this


where should the connector code be applied in the button code generation is the problem or how do you call a subframe

see attachment

This post has been edited by Ak-Emm: 19 August 2008 - 07:38 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 1lacca  Icon User is offline

  • code.rascal
  • member icon

Reputation: 44
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,822
  • Joined: 11-August 05

Re: Help with Forte for Java

Posted 19 August 2008 - 07:47 AM

I think you missed the attachments / screen shots.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Ak-Emm  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 08

Re: Help with Forte for Java

Posted 19 August 2008 - 08:02 AM

View Post1lacca, on 19 Aug, 2008 - 07:47 AM, said:

I think you missed the attachments / screen shots.



sorry what format bmp/ jpg ?

here is the first frame
and second in the attachment

Are they there

bmp files if visible

else send me your e-mail
and ill forward them to you or

any1 interested p
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 1lacca  Icon User is offline

  • code.rascal
  • member icon

Reputation: 44
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,822
  • Joined: 11-August 05

Re: Help with Forte for Java

Posted 19 August 2008 - 09:03 AM

JPG is definitely OK, PNG or GIF might work as well.
However I can't see any of your pictures.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 Ak-Emm  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 08

Re: Help with Forte for Java

Posted 19 August 2008 - 10:23 AM

where should the connector code be applied in the button code generation is the problem or how do you call a subframe

see attachment

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image
  • Attached Image
  • Attached Image

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Ak-Emm  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 08

Re: Help with Forte for Java

Posted 19 August 2008 - 12:47 PM

View Post1lacca, on 19 Aug, 2008 - 09:03 AM, said:

JPG is definitely OK, PNG or GIF might work as well.
However I can't see any of your pictures.



have you seen it?
the attachments are above
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1