Php Wrapper for tracking purposes

Tracking registrants refferal sources

Page 1 of 1

6 Replies - 1046 Views - Last Post: 21 August 2008 - 07:34 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 SQUIRBAGE  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 18-August 08

Php Wrapper for tracking purposes

Post icon  Posted 18 August 2008 - 08:10 AM

Hello:

I have a site being used to promote real estate and the company doing the data collection and tracking has asked for some additional code they sent me this as an explanation. I'm having trouble understanding the procedure, this is the code:
[code]1) You are always linking to http://member.kingwe...;ATTR_520=index. The flow id is crucial because it is used to establish which form to load. One form contains the “How did you hear about us?” question, however the other flow does not as it is expecting you to define the variable through the URL.
- To fix this problem please be sure you check in Flash if the flash variable you assigned the referrer too is blank…and if so please link to http://member.kingwe...f...000&lang=en

2) When looking at the URL we see that the variable for the referrer is always “index”.
- To fix this problem please use $_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER'] in your php wrapper to retrieve the right referrer.
[code]

We are not using any php currently on the site. Any insight would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Php Wrapper for tracking purposes

#2 pemcconnell  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 54
  • View blog
  • Posts: 472
  • Joined: 05-August 08

Re: Php Wrapper for tracking purposes

Posted 18 August 2008 - 09:11 AM

are you familliar width javascripts document.referrer, i.e.

<script language="Javascript">
document.write('You came from '+document.referrer);
</script>



It's pretty much the same thing.

You could also try
$ENV{'HTTP_REFERER'} 


Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 pemcconnell  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 54
  • View blog
  • Posts: 472
  • Joined: 05-August 08

Re: Php Wrapper for tracking purposes

Posted 18 August 2008 - 09:16 AM

Quote

...to fix this problem please be sure you check in Flash...


Have you made this in flash? If so how are you passing the vars? Is it in a querystring appended to the .swf embed?

And the part about 'index' being set as the referrer - how are you getting this filename as the referrer currently?

Basically they are saying to pass the $_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER'] instead of whatever you are currently passing through to them. Post some of your code and I'll have a look - I'm pretty handy @ the ole actionscript (more so 2.0 than 3.0 though), so if you are integrating them both I should be able to help.

This post has been edited by pemcconnell: 18 August 2008 - 09:18 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 SQUIRBAGE  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 18-August 08

Re: Php Wrapper for tracking purposes

Posted 20 August 2008 - 07:24 AM

Hey Peter,

Thanks for the info. do you have a specific email address I could communicate with you directly through? You could email me at alexrepetski@gmail.com

Thank you
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 pemcconnell  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 54
  • View blog
  • Posts: 472
  • Joined: 05-August 08

Re: Php Wrapper for tracking purposes

Posted 20 August 2008 - 08:43 AM

I don't give my email address out anymore - sorry. I will however help you via this site
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 SQUIRBAGE  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 18-August 08

Re: Php Wrapper for tracking purposes

Posted 21 August 2008 - 07:05 AM

View Postpemcconnell, on 20 Aug, 2008 - 08:43 AM, said:

I don't give my email address out anymore - sorry. I will however help you via this site

Understandable. What should I give you as far as code url's etc..?

Thanks in advance
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 pemcconnell  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 54
  • View blog
  • Posts: 472
  • Joined: 05-August 08

Re: Php Wrapper for tracking purposes

Posted 21 August 2008 - 07:34 AM

Allo :P

If you could post the code / page that is sending the request that should do the job.

Is it PHP, actionscript / both? If flash is used is it when the flash application is running that this error is caused or just when the PHP is called?

This post has been edited by pemcconnell: 21 August 2008 - 07:34 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1