8 Replies - 1012 Views - Last Post: 24 August 2008 - 10:11 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Just getting started with C++:

Post icon  Posted 22 August 2008 - 08:17 AM

I'm just getting started learning c++ and have been learnig the basics in a dos enviorment.

I want to use c++ to make applications(that may execute dos commands or small line command dos apps) and eventual go into making games. But I'm more oncerned with windows apps or making window GUI apps out of dos line command apps..

Is it necessary to learn the dos functions and or should I just jump to Win32. I've learn the basic as far as include files and cout and cin and stiff like that.

I programming on a PC in windows using MS Visual C++ express edition to start off.

TIA!

This post has been edited by Bryan Cotton: 22 August 2008 - 12:21 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Just getting started with C++:

• g++ jameson.cpp -o beverage
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Just getting started with C++:

Posted 22 August 2008 - 08:17 AM

Either or, if you want GUI apps then go with win32
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 22 August 2008 - 10:39 AM

So with win32 apps, am I able to call dos apps and assign it commands?
For instance instead of having to learn c++ dos coding, could make a win32 c++ appp that calls say an unrar dos app and assign it file names and commands

sort of like if a dos app reuqires me to type

unrar <command> <filename to extract>

Can I make a win app that assigns the command and filen ame then call un unrar dos app. Or would i have to code the unrar app in win32 c++

I'm thinking like

Winapp Main
a=<command>
f=<file name to extract>
run unrar.exe a f ; which would exceute unrar <command> <fle name to extract>

please note that I know the unar commands and the actuall c++ syntax is off. just using it as and example.

TIA
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon