create xml from php

I'm trying to create a form that will generate an xml file

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 5231 Views - Last Post: 29 August 2008 - 11:52 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 bkeller99  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 29-August 08

create xml from php

Post icon  Posted 29 August 2008 - 10:46 AM

Hello, man I just found this site and seems to good to be true. Well here goes.
I am trying to create a form that generates an xml file.

here is the form code:
<html>

<head>

<title>XML Employee Data</title>

</head>

<body>

<p>Employee Data</p>

<form method="POST" action="php/convert_to_xml.php">

<input type="hidden" name="create_employee" value="true">

<table>

  <tr>

	<td width="27%">Employee Name:</td>

	<td width="73%"><input type="text" name="empName" size="20"></td>

  </tr>

  <tr>

	<td width="27%">Employee Address</td>

	<td width="73%"><input type="text" name="empAddress" size="73"></td>

  </tr>

  <tr>

	<td width="27%">Employee SSN</td>

	<td width="73%"><input type="text" name="empSSN" size="20"></td>

  </tr>

  <tr>

	<td width="27%">Company Name</td>

	<td width="73%"><input type="text" name="empCompany" size="73"></td>

  </tr>

  <tr>

	<td width="27%">XML File Name</td>

	<td width="73%"><input type="text" name="xmlfileName" size="20"></td>

  </tr>

</table>

  <p align="center">

  <input type="submit" value="Submit" name="B1"></p>

</form>

</body>

</html>


here is the php file ( convert_to_xml.php )
<?php
 if(isset($_POST['create_employee'])){

		echo "Employee Data Posted";

		$xmlfileName = $_POST['xmlfileName'];

		$empName = $_POST['empName'];

		$empAddress = $_POST['empAddress'];

		$empSSN = $_POST['empSSN'];

		$empCompany = $_POST['empCompany'];

		$xml_dec = "<?xml version=\"1.0\" encoding=\"UTF-8\" ?>";

/* After gathering all data from the form then, I created a variable to hold all the data entered by
 user in string format.  */


		$rootELementStart = "<employee>";

		$rootElementEnd = "</employee>";

		$xml_doc=  $xml_dec;

		$xml_doc .=  $rootELementStart;

		$xml_doc .=  "<employeename>";

		$xml_doc .=  $empName;

		$xml_doc .=  "</employeename>";

		$xml_doc .=  "<employeeaddress>";

		$xml_doc .=  $empAddress;

		$xml_doc .=  "</employeeaddress>";

		$xml_doc .=  "<SSN>";

		$xml_doc .=  $empSSN;

		$xml_doc .=  "</SSN>";

		$xml_doc .=  "<company>";

		$xml_doc .=  $empCompany;

		$xml_doc .=  "</company>";

		$xml_doc .=  $rootElementEnd;

		$default_dir = "xml_files/";

		$default_dir .=   $xmlfileName .".xml";

/*Here I have taken default directory as xml_files directory.

After creating string representation of employee data, I have used following PHP script to store in the file */

$fp = fopen($default_dir,'w');

			$write = fwrite($fp,$xml_doc);
?>


when I submit the form I receive this error:

Parse error: parse error, unexpected $end in C:\Program Files\xampp\htdocs\testsite\php\convert_to_xml.php on line 68

According to phpinfo() I have dom/xml version 20031129
libxml Version 2.6.22

I'm eventually going to modify this form and php to do mortgage calculations, and the xml file will be used to generate a flash based line and bar graph.

Can you spot anything?!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: create xml from php

#2 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6245
  • View blog
  • Posts: 24,013
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: create xml from php

Posted 29 August 2008 - 10:57 AM

You have an unclosed brace, looks like you didn't close the if (isset... {
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 JBrace1990  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 112
  • View blog
  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: 09-March 08

Re: create xml from php

Posted 29 August 2008 - 11:11 AM

yes, you need a } at the end before ?>
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 bkeller99  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 29-August 08

Re: create xml from php

Posted 29 August 2008 - 11:52 AM

View PostJBrace1990, on 29 Aug, 2008 - 11:11 AM, said:

yes, you need a } at the end before ?>

Whoa..I must have looked at that code for 3 days straight and didn't see it!
Thanks to both of you...
Works like a champ now.
Now I'm off to see if I can generate mortgage calculations and convert totals to a graph. THanks a ton!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1