10 Replies - 1613 Views - Last Post: 14 October 2008 - 01:42 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Walking the Path (vs Knowing the Path)

Post icon  Posted 30 August 2008 - 01:57 AM

I'm an MD (physician) teaching myself programming and web development to help get myself into the medical device industry. Unfortunately an MD is no longer enough. The medical device industry includes the companies that design and make stents, pacemakers and stuff like that (Medtronic, for example).

For starters, I've been studying first order logic and intro Web development as well as C and C++. I'm using Internet tutorials as well as the following:

"Introduction to Logic" by Harry J. Gensler
"How to Design Programs" by Felleisen, Krishnamurthi, et. al.
"Learning Web Design" by Jennifer Niederst Robbins
"The Principles of Beautiful Web Design" by Jason Beaird
"Absolute Beginner's Guide to C" by Greg Perry
"Accelerated C++" by Koenig and Moo
"The C++ Programming Language" by Bjarne Stroustrup

Don't fret, I'm very used to studying on parallel tracts. I'm giving myself eighteen months of full time self-directed study before reentering the market. My question to y'all is this:

What other skills and languages should I be considering?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Walking the Path (vs Knowing the Path)

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Walking the Path (vs Knowing the Path)

Posted 30 August 2008 - 06:16 AM

It all depends on what you want to use programming/web development for in the medical devices industry. I would think that what you are doing is ok if you want to get involved in back office or support services but not for something like R&D. I can get more info for you if you'd like. My cousin is a production manager for one of these companies in the UK.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• The Innocent Shall Suffer, Big Time
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 August 2008 - 08:10 AM