9 Replies - 1836 Views - Last Post: 09 September 2008 - 12:39 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Using 2 Domains on 1 Account

Posted 02 September 2008 - 02:56 PM

Hi,
I started web design about a year ago with (X)HTML and a text editor (Homesite+, best I've found). After the basics, I started using CS3 Master collection, Adobe Flex Pro, Visual Studio Pro and M$ Expression Web Pro. I have about 30 years in computer related experience and about 1 year in web related applications.

I bought 2 .com domains and 1 web hosting account at this point. Forgive my ignorance when it comes to the web hosting portion of web sites. My experience has been mainly with using a great free account with Awardspace.com using a sub domain or multiple sub domains. This has worked out well for learning how to place many pages on the web without much of a learning curve.

My problem is that I'd like to use my 2 domains with 1 hosting account. At present both domains open to the same homepage (index.html etc.). I would like each of the .com domains to point or open onto their own homepage. The server account I bought/rented is with Startlogic, which appears to be a great service IF you are very experienced with web sites BUT the customer assistance and service is non existent for the most part because when I called them, they didnt have a clue as to what I was trying to do or how to do it. They are great at maintaining the servers and they actually answer phone calls any time that I have called them.