5 Replies - 5173 Views - Last Post: 12 September 2008 - 04:47 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Rebuilding the Same Game for windows

Posted 11 September 2008 - 05:40 PM

Hi, I recently bought a PC for a friend that came with Vista Home Premium. Well one of the games she has called the Same Game no longer works properly. It was originally built as a Unix game and was ported to Windows 3.1 back in '93. This game has worked all the way up to XP, and it even plays on Vista, however certain parts of the game board is cut off and of course there is no way to resize the window. I've tried changing all the compatibility settings for it and nothing seems to work. Here is a link to the game. If you have XP you can see what exactly has to go into this game to rebuild it. If you have Vista please look at it and see what problems it experiences.

Anyways I've started rebuilding the game in Visual Basic, however I am very new at Visual Basic and Programming in general. So I really need some help. So far I've put a few things together, but like I said I don't know enough to put the whole thing together. So those of you with XP, please check out the game, because when I recreate this I need to be able to create it and make it work exactly how you see it.

So far I have created the tile pieces for the game, I've put together a basic menu like the one you see in the game, and the Exit, and About options are the only one's that work so far. This is what I still have to do:
  • Place all tiles on the board randomly filling a 20*10 setting or 25*15
  • Make New Game option replace the current game with a new randomly placed set
  • Make Replay option start the current board over
  • Option Undo should be able to back the player up through their last 10 moves
  • Option Score should list the 10 highest scores
  • Option Information should list each tile piece and what they represent
  • Sound Options are not so important, it will most likely irritate my friend