function pointer

Simple question from beginner

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 10372 Views - Last Post: 03 December 2008 - 03:19 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

function pointer

Posted 14 September 2008 - 07:14 PM

Hi. I am fairly new to C# and am doing my first project in it. I am emerging from C, which I programmed in for several years and am now trying to master C# and .NET.

I have a very simple question about function pointers (i.e. callback functions).

Background:
I have a class in which I have a public struct to hold data. One of the fields in that struct needs to point to a callback function.

Here is the code:

class Menu
	{
		public struct menuitem
		{
			public string title;
			public delegate void callback();
			public int target;		// -1 IF ITS NOT A SUBMENU; IF submenu then this is the array # of the menu
			public int showwarning;	// -1 if no warning is to be shown (default); otherwise, array # of the warning message to show just before preceeding
			public bool show;		  // Show the menuitem? (default = true)
		}

The problem I am having is with the
 public delegate void callback(); 
. How do I assign a function to it? Have I defined it wrong? Or is there some kind of rule I must follow when actually defining a function and assigning it to that variable?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Addition
----------

To clarify myself:

What I am trying to do is build a library for menus (as a small part of my project). My project will further use this library to provide the user with a GUI for easing configuration.
Therefore, I need many different menus to accomplish this task. All of them will be instances of the generic Menu class.

Each menu item will have an associated callback function with it. That function will be (somehow) associated to that delegate variable in that menuitem struct.

So, for example

void callbackfunc(void) {
}

void main() {

Menu a = new Menu();

// Register callback function