Wireless connection between laptop in domain and home pc

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 4755 Views - Last Post: 20 September 2008 - 03:18 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Laptop can't be connected to home pc_changed domain

Post icon  Posted 17 September 2008 - 05:02 AM

Hi there,
I am a very basic novice pc fiddler. You know what they say about some knowledge is more dangerous than none at all...

Well yours truly figured he wanted to finally rename his old work laptop into something more meaningful than LTE0987 to home laptop and disconnect it from the old work domain XVBB domain. Unfortunately he thought this would easy to do

However , first he discovered the laptop could not be linked into another domain (well it kind of was but he had already renamed that to workgroup)

Then when he went to turn laptop back on, he got the screen with log on and password but no dropdown domain options, zippo!

Basically there is no way of getting beyond this so my laptop is basically useless

I believe there is some C+ code that I can use in safe mode to bypass unknown domain login and password (I have no way of knowing what login or password to use since the laptop is now off its old domain name network!)

I believe this is solvable and I live miles away from my old work and in any case they are so busy and conscious of cost minimisation that they are not going to assist. Afer all I no longer work there, it was my idea to change the domain name, it worked fine before..mmm

Can somebody please help because I was wanting to set up a more flexible wireless pc network linking my old pc, my old work laptop and psp, media center and ps3. For starters linking my pc with my laptop using my already set up wireless router (DLINK DIR-300)

Hope somebody can make my laptop useful again:-)

PS> I am a beginner but I think that this problem is more intermediate or advanced

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Laptop can't be connected to home pc_changed domain

• New D.I.C Head