8 Replies - 1323 Views - Last Post: 28 January 2003 - 08:29 AM

#1 Trakker  Icon User is offline

  • A$$hole Extraordinaire.
  • member icon

Reputation: 13
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,386
  • Joined: 06-June 01

Getting video from a camcorder....

Posted 24 January 2003 - 08:59 AM

Yeah I've got this old Sony Handycam thing that has 2 coax ports, one for video and one for audio. i've got a Rage128Pro card that i found, it says it can record video from a coax port on the card itself, but i don't have a program to use it (the Win2K driver don't do to much)

Is there a program i can use to utilize this port on my vid card? or is there a PCI card i could buy that would let me hook this thing up?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Getting video from a camcorder....

#2 Nova Dragoon  Icon User is offline

  • The Innocent Shall Suffer, Big Time
  • member icon

Reputation: 36
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,169
  • Joined: 16-August 01

Re: Getting video from a camcorder....

Posted 24 January 2003 - 10:15 PM

Unless Im horribly mistaken, The rage is from ATI, and ATI has a program distributed with some of its capture cards called TV, I got a. ATI TV Wonder VE, and it uses this ATI program, you can problably find it from the ATI site, and tweak around with settings, and it might work
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 The Neoracle  Icon User is offline

  • Check, check, 1, 2.
  • member icon

Reputation: 21
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,097
  • Joined: 30-March 01

Re: Getting video from a camcorder....

Posted 26 January 2003 - 08:53 PM

buy a mac.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 MarkoDaGeek  Icon User is offline

  • Dirty Technophile
  • member icon

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,158
  • Joined: 13-October 01

Re: Getting video from a camcorder....

Posted 26 January 2003 - 09:28 PM

lol


If that doesnt work you can get a USB video capture thing from ATI for under $ 100.00
and ive seen video capture cards for under $ 50.00 USD
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Trakker  Icon User is offline

  • A$$hole Extraordinaire.
  • member icon

Reputation: 13
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,386
  • Joined: 06-June 01

Re: Getting video from a camcorder....

Posted 26 January 2003 - 09:39 PM

haha buy a mac...if only lawn mowing made that kind of money.

nova dragoon, thanks, i did that and it works great, cept it records in MP2 format, and it cant even read it after i make it....but oh well it works in an odd way :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Vetritus03  Icon User is offline

  • Microsoft.Whore

Reputation: 5
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,742
  • Joined: 31-August 01

Re: Getting video from a camcorder....

Posted 28 January 2003 - 12:40 AM

you should be able to find an MPEG-2 codec for MediaPlayer. too bad you don't have XP or *gasp*ME... Movie Maker would have worked for you.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Quik  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,750
  • Joined: 06-March 01

Re: Getting video from a camcorder....

Posted 28 January 2003 - 01:05 AM

grr.. talk about a good time for this topic..

I got myself a MiniDV Camcorder and it requires a IEEE 1934/DV card which I believe is a 'firewire' port..

Can someone verify that?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Trakker  Icon User is offline

  • A$$hole Extraordinaire.
  • member icon

Reputation: 13
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,386
  • Joined: 06-June 01

Re: Getting video from a camcorder....

Posted 28 January 2003 - 08:23 AM

Vetritus03, on Jan 28 2003, 02:40 AM, said:

you should be able to find an MPEG-2 codec for MediaPlayer.  too bad you don't have XP or *gasp*ME... Movie Maker would have worked for you.

yeah, that's the way it's workin now...i make the movies on one machine and edit/play them on my XP machine....not TOO bad, but i coulda done better...

i tried finding an MPEG-2 codec but everything for WMP costs cash except the player itself... but on my xp machine with WMP 9 it seems to play fine, but on my 2k machine w/ WMP 9 it dont.... oh well... time to get out kazaa... :D



and quik, yes that's firewire. both firewire ports & connectors look like USB with a tapered end on one side.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 aswettla  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 603
  • Joined: 27-September 02

Re: Getting video from a camcorder....

Posted 28 January 2003 - 08:29 AM

the US and Canadian goverments should give out nice Power Mac G4s. The canadian goverment has like x 4.5 billion dollars. Do something with it.:)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1