4 Replies - 1089 Views - Last Post: 23 October 2008 - 10:42 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Amateur coder looking to tackle professional problem, looking for some

Posted 20 October 2008 - 05:28 PM

Okay, I am an amateur coder in many ways; I have been 'coding' in multiple languages for over a decade, but aside from HTML and CSS, and SQL, I have always limited myself to borrowing and modifying and/or hacking existing code to make it work for my needs (whether stealing the code from open source programs, or using tutorials/books to get code snippets). I have toyed with PHP, Perl, Python, C. C++. and others such as javascript, Java, VisualBasic, etc. I have a decent working knowledge of coding in general, but I know I couldn't just sit down and start designing a new program from scratch based on what I know. I have tried books and online tutorials and even a few actual classes; and while I learn from each, I have never yet had the drive to actually master any languae to the point where I can just start writing fresh code for myself.

I now have a few projects I would like to do this with; I have decided I would finally like to have something I can look at and say that I made it from scratch, not something cobbled together from others' work edited for my uses. And so I would like to get some general advice for one of these projects.

I think based on my limited knowledge ofthe various languages, PHP is best forme to code in for now...I know a little more of it than I do of others. The first piece of advice I would like is in the editing software. I have used notepad (okay but no longer something I would use), Frontpage (never again, thanks!) and Dreamweaver (I am on CS3 and love it for HTML/CSS work, but it seems to me to be just 'okay' for PHP...?). I have read of a few others online like Notepad2, Notepad++, RapidPHP, and PHP Designer 2008. And I am sure others exist out there.