Starter programming language for a 10 year old

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 6096 Views - Last Post: 26 April 2011 - 02:36 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Starter programming language for a 10 year old

Posted 26 October 2008 - 08:16 AM

Hello all, I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions about a good language for my 10 year old daughter to start learning. I am learning java ATM but I am only beginning to understand it myself and in no shape to try to teach someone else.

I do understand programming to an extent.

Show I start her out in Basic? is there something else that would be better/easier for her to get the starter concepts?

Thanks for any advice you may have.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Starter programming language for a 10 year old

• lost in compilation
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Starter programming language for a 10 year old

Posted 26 October 2008 - 08:23 AM

For a 10 year old, I might suggest html then add some css and javascript. html shows output without much learning and can let her feel accomplished, even if the output isn't all that useful. I know when I learned my first language it was painful to write line after line to get nearly no results. It will let your daughter get a feel for structure etc especially as she moves into javascript. Then she can decide whether to stick with web development or platform languages and whether to move into more complex languages like PHP, Java, etc.

Just my 2 cents.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Gabe's Nemesis
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 26 October 2008 - 08:35 AM

Assembly?

Nah, there are a couple of programs I've seen that let you program traffic light sequences etc. helps tech the initial logic that is used in systems.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• sudo apt-get install brain
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 26 October 2008 - 08:35 AM