Security Error on a Database?

VB.NET DATABASE SECURITY HELP

Page 1 of 1

8 Replies - 845 Views - Last Post: 29 October 2008 - 06:40 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 StrategicBlob  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 26-June 08

Security Error on a Database?

Post icon  Posted 27 October 2008 - 06:36 AM

Here is an interesting question. I have just gotten my VB.NET program completed and I have a database with it. It works perfectly fine on my computer but when I tried accessing it from another computer across the network I get this big security error. I attached a screen shot of what it tells me. I have no password or user name to access the database so it is weird if it would be asking for one. This is the connection screen that I declared in my program:

Dim conn As New OleDbConnection("Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=\\192.168.0.10\Win_Files\1\mine1.accdb)



Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Security Error on a Database?

#2 Damage  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 27
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,079
  • Joined: 05-June 08

Re: Security Error on a Database?

Posted 27 October 2008 - 03:52 PM

Do you have the necessary permission to access and change files on the host machine?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 StrategicBlob  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 26-June 08

Re: Security Error on a Database?

Posted 28 October 2008 - 06:57 AM

View PostDamage, on 27 Oct, 2008 - 03:52 PM, said:

Do you have the necessary permission to access and change files on the host machine?



Correct. I have set up the file so that everyone can change any setting on it! I figured I would try that first and tighten security later. I might create another network folder and loosen the security on that even further just to try. Thanks for the post damage.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 StrategicBlob  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 26-June 08

Re: Security Error on a Database?

Posted 28 October 2008 - 07:19 AM

Argh! No luck, I set up a temp folder on my machine and shared it across the network with full permissions for everyone! And it still tosses off that goofy .net permission error. I have a gut feeling that some how the connection string is not offering enough information for what .net expects.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: Security Error on a Database?

Posted 28 October 2008 - 10:00 AM

Try modifying your connection string to the following and see if that helps.
Dim conn As New OleDbConnection("Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=\\192.168.0.10\Win_Files\1\mine1.accdb;Persist Security Info=False;)

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 StrategicBlob  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 26-June 08

Re: Security Error on a Database?

Posted 28 October 2008 - 10:36 AM

View Postjayman9, on 28 Oct, 2008 - 10:00 AM, said:

Try modifying your connection string to the following and see if that helps.
Dim conn As New OleDbConnection("Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=\\192.168.0.10\Win_Files\1\mine1.accdb;Persist Security Info=False;)



Nope no dice Jayman9. Thanks for the post but it still tosses off this nagging error. Grrrrr. I am getting rather annoyed. This seems like a simple enough request but its acting near impossible lol. :angry:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 WayneSpangler  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 22
  • View blog
  • Posts: 106
  • Joined: 22-March 08

Re: Security Error on a Database?

Posted 28 October 2008 - 04:15 PM

Is this in Vista?
If so look at this:
http://msdn.microsof...y/bb326612.aspx
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 mdricci  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 29-October 08

Re: Security Error on a Database?

Posted 29 October 2008 - 06:06 AM

View PostWayneSpangler, on 28 Oct, 2008 - 04:15 PM, said:

Is this in Vista?
If so look at this:
http://msdn.microsof...y/bb326612.aspx




You need to download the OFFICE 2007 runtime drivers from Microsoft for the clients. If the clients do not have Office 2007, this will not work. It is a free download at :
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 StrategicBlob  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 26-June 08

Re: Security Error on a Database?

Posted 29 October 2008 - 06:40 AM

View Postmdricci, on 29 Oct, 2008 - 06:06 AM, said:

View PostWayneSpangler, on 28 Oct, 2008 - 04:15 PM, said:

Is this in Vista?
If so look at this:
http://msdn.microsof...y/bb326612.aspx




You need to download the OFFICE 2007 runtime drivers from Microsoft for the clients. If the clients do not have Office 2007, this will not work. It is a free download at :
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en



Thanks for the posts guys but it is not a vista computer. Both are XP. Also the runtime drive you linked did nothing. If you look at the original file that I attached its saying that I might need to check the .NET Framework Configuration Tool. Does anyone know how to access that?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1