• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 7589 Views - Last Post: 03 November 2008 - 12:20 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C# as first language

Posted 29 October 2008 - 10:00 AM

Hello all,
I have a question. Would C# be good as my first language? I am not a computer newbie, I have studied a little of C++ before, and loved it. For some reason unknown to my current self, I stopped. That was before C# came into being. Should I start where I left off and finish learning C++ or move on to C#? I have a few concerns:

1. I don't really want people to have to have the .NET Framework to run programs.
2. I hate Visual Basic syntax. If C# looks and writes like VB, it's out. I love writing/reading C++, so the more like C++ the better (as far as syntax)
3. I don't want to learn a language that soon nobody will use.
4. I'm only going to make stuff for Windows, so if C# only works on windows then that's ok, but I don't want to use any Microsoft compilers.

I put this in the C# section because I already know about what C++ is, but not much about C#. Hopefully you will be able to help me with this dilemma. Thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C# as first language

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: C# as first language

Posted 29 October 2008 - 10:08 AM

In any type of programming, English is supposed to be the first language, the computer's compiler is written such that the commands make more sense that way. But yes, if you are looking for computing, then C# would be a good one to start with, unless you're doing web designs then Java would be a good first computing language.

Oh, stay away from VB... Very far away!

This post has been edited by todiefor: 29 October 2008 - 10:09 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Not Your Ordinary Programmer
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 29 October 2008 - 12:15 PM

you could say that C# is the marriage of C++ and Java. The syntaxes are similar.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog