What can't you do with C#?

as opposed to native c++ app

Page 1 of 1

9 Replies - 9751 Views - Last Post: 24 November 2008 - 07:34 AM Rate Topic: -----

• Lux Ex Tenebris
  • member icon

• View blog

What can't you do with C#?

Post icon  Posted 21 November 2008 - 02:50 AM

Hi guys,

I decided I need to learn C# to write a useful program outside of the class room.

I have some experience with C and I'm learning C++ now (had to drop my java class :sad:) and my COBOL experience isn't very relevant.

For a true full blown home user or business windows application C# makes more sense to me than Java.

So tonight I installed VS 2008 on my pc and laptop and started the basic tutorials and reading the intro's to the language.

One of the things that jumped out at me, since they mention it right up front, is that C# can do almost everything a native C++ application can do.

Could someone break down in laymens terms what C# can't do? I'm not looking at developing a FPS game or anything like that.

My intended target startig out will be the cute widget type novelty programs and more truly useful utility programs as I advance and it would be good to know going in what short comings I will run in to with C#.

I don't imagine I'll be replacing the disk defragmenter program with a C# app! ;) but maybe there are some serious shortfalling of C# you guys know of?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What can't you do with C#?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: What can't you do with C#?

Posted 21 November 2008 - 08:46 AM

The primary difference between C# and C++ (besides C# being a heck of a lot easier to read) is that C# is a memory-managed language. You can do things like bitshifting and other binary operations, but don't expect the same sort of raw memory-bending abilities you have in C++. If you're not doing games or other operations that need extreme performance and optimisation, I'd take that as a big plus rather than a downside of C#.