My Own API

How do you make a custom API?

Page 1 of 1

9 Replies - 1253 Views - Last Post: 04 December 2008 - 05:49 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

My Own API

Posted 01 December 2008 - 05:16 PM

Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie in C++ whose entering the intermediate stage.

Now, I have experience in Win32, GTK, QT, and a few other APIs or toolkits.

I'm making a program, but I want to be cross-platform and have a custom look and feel(API).
Example: Safari for Windows

Now, I want to write a GUI library so I can do this.

Does anyone have any idea where to start?

I'll give more detail if needed.

Thanks in advance. ;)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: My Own API

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: My Own API

Posted 01 December 2008 - 05:44 PM

A couple of pointers :P

1. I would start out basing it off of SDL, wxWidgets, or some other GUI toolkit or making it depend on these toolkits.

2. Otherwise, try to use preprocessor directives like:
#ifdef WIN32
#ifdef LINUX
#ifdef UNIX

------Note these are nonstandard, but all major compilers i know of have these flags set one way or another. That's the one thing C++ is missing. Since it isn't semi-compiled like Java, the standards committee should make these kinds of things standard to help people, and make defined platform constants. And they should kill all the non-standard crap that gets so many people confused (getch, etc). But that's another debate.

I know there's a flag for GCC to output all of the defined constants, but it escapes me at the moment.

ALso, i really hate to say it (see sig) but your best bet may be to use the Java SWING API. But if you want the challenge, I'm all for you. A nice, easy-to-use crossplatform graphics toolkit might be nice. WxWidgets has a lot of functionality, but it's kind of confusing. I wish they made Allegro for Linux... All this event-based stuff gets procedural people messed up :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +