7 Replies - 615 Views - Last Post: 05 December 2008 - 08:13 AM

#1 richiebee  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 27-November 08

Back up whole site?

Posted 03 December 2008 - 09:51 AM

How do I back up my whole site
(preferably fo free)
downloading it to my computer everday no good
:blink:
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Back up whole site?

#2 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1858
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,275
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Back up whole site?

Posted 03 December 2008 - 09:53 AM

What control panel software does your web host use?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Head MFIC
  • member icon

Reputation: 5061
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,433
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Back up whole site?

Posted 04 December 2008 - 08:33 PM

What OS platform?

I would suggest using a shell script to compress the files, & then transfer the files offsite.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 DeCompile  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 19
  • View blog
  • Posts: 301
  • Joined: 20-July 08

Re: Back up whole site?

Posted 04 December 2008 - 11:18 PM

What sort of access do you have to your website? SSH, FTP, HTTP?

What services are you running on your website? Databases?

If there's no databases or server side operations then simply backup via FTP.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 richiebee  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 27-November 08

Re: Back up whole site?

Posted 05 December 2008 - 04:44 AM

View PostDeCompile, on 4 Dec, 2008 - 10:18 PM, said:

What sort of access do you have to your website? SSH, FTP, HTTP?

What services are you running on your website? Databases?

If there's no databases or server side operations then simply backup via FTP.


This the response from my Server host provider....

"Thank you for your enquiry. We store all our data on RAID arrays which means if the hard drive on one server fails the data will be safe as it is stored on another hard drive on the server. Unfortunately we do not retrieve files for customers as the backups are stored off site"

The server does have a back up sytem but won't allow me to retrieve form it unless emergancy? it's to cover them.

I also found a database back up that sends a copy of the database and emails it to me I'm very happy with it.
I really wanted to automate the process of whole site including images and code, in case i make a big mistake while coding or designing and i can retrive the original files...

came up with a solution ... created a folder in the root of the site and copy the whole site on to it which just takes a couple of clicks drag and drop and happens really quickly- so I can do this everyday if i remember....
so sort a back to square 1!
:blink:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 ValPaliy  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 12
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,395
  • Joined: 06-December 07

Re: Back up whole site?

Posted 05 December 2008 - 06:28 AM

See if this works for you :ph34r:
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#7 richiebee  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 27-November 08

Re: Back up whole site?

Posted 05 December 2008 - 06:57 AM

View PostValPaliy, on 5 Dec, 2008 - 05:28 AM, said:

See if this works for you :ph34r:


Great fantastic thanks!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 ValPaliy  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 12
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,395
  • Joined: 06-December 07

Re: Back up whole site?

Posted 05 December 2008 - 08:13 AM

You are welcome!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1