4 Replies - 3460 Views - Last Post: 21 January 2009 - 10:31 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need help creating a simple online database

Post icon  Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:00 PM

Hello everyone, this is my first time here and I hope you can help me!

I'm trying to discover the simplest way in displaying information on a web page where visitors can sort and filter information according to their needs. Think of it as an online Excel sheet.

I have a good grasp of HTML and some knowledge of how PHP and SQL work, but other than that I'm an utter novice.

I don't care how much time it will take me to learn what I need to know, I just need to know what method is the best and I will take it from there! Most of the information I've found so far seems to take a very complicated route, including forms and whatnot, which I think is too much for my simple needs.

Even finding an online resource where I could manually enter my data and "tag" it would be a big help!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Need help creating a simple online database

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Need help creating a simple online database

Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:22 PM

I am assuming you mean you want a table of information on the web where they can do things like clicking headers and it will sort by column or by using a simple form where someone types in some keywords, selects a filter and hits submit and gets results from the database sorted.

Generally each time a user wants to sort something by clicking a header like you might do in excel there is going to be a request sent to the web server. This is just the nature of the web. There are ways to reduce how many times you send requests and how the request is sent. This is where you get into the complex world of scripts, ajax, forms and such.