VB .NET Database Questions

VB.Net Cook Book Project

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 3750 Views - Last Post: 05 January 2009 - 08:47 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

VB .NET Database Questions

Posted 11 December 2008 - 11:06 PM

Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=C:\myFolder\myAccess2007file.accdb;Jet OLEDB:Database Password=MyDbPassword;

I am new to VB.NET and the above code I can't seem to get it to connect to my database. I am rusty on all my coding abilities and wish to start this project from scratch. Am not looking for anyone to do my homework. Visual Studio 2008 underlines post of the connection string so I know it will error before trying to run the app. I might as well be a beginner when it comes to databases. I know I should be using Dim keywords but not sure what? This is my first attempt with VB.Net and am trying to learn enough to complete a Cook Book database. I will have many more questions later on in this post I'm sure. All I have to go on for an access database is a connection string that alone will not connect. I do not wan't anyone to give me sample code, I can find plenty of sample code for databases on the net. What I wan't is to learn database programming step by step, one line at a time. It is easy to copy and paste code, but I wan't to learn .net coding hands on. My goal is to be able to write any kind of database app from scratch on my own. If you decide to help me with this project please explain your given code where I can understand it.