3 Replies - 1209 Views - Last Post: 15 December 2008 - 01:05 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Is Visual Basic Worthwhile?

Post icon  Posted 14 December 2008 - 06:20 PM

Hey! I'm kinda new to this programming thing and I was wondering if Visual Basic is really worth learning. It seems to me that many companies don't use it and it seems like a waste of time. I've seen languages like Java and C# out there and they seem like people use those more than they do Visual Basic. It feels like more of a beginning programming language than all the rest of them. What is the point of Visual Basic and when is it used?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Is Visual Basic Worthwhile?

• Gabe's Nemesis
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Is Visual Basic Worthwhile?

Posted 14 December 2008 - 06:32 PM

I've heard it's good for beginners, for a decent grounding or start most people opt for java or C/C++
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 December 2008 - 07:05 PM

You may be asking the wrong forum... "Visual Basic" is deader than disco. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone for any reason. ;)

VB.NET is Visual Basic the next generation. As part of the .NET framework, it's as good for Windows as anything else. As something to learn... It's an odd fusion of the old VB and the new Object Oriented .NET platform. For .NET, I much prefer C#.

For a new coder, I usually recommend Java. It's very well documented, free, runs on most systems, and teaches a lot of important core concepts.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 15 December 2008 - 01:05 AM

I'd say that your choice of language depends on what you want to do with it. What is your goal? The following is only an opinion, maybe not well grounded.