8 Replies - 17184 Views - Last Post: 14 January 2009 - 02:20 AM

#1 Israel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 821
  • Joined: 22-November 04

Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

Posted 21 December 2008 - 08:30 PM

Ok, after seeing some weird stuff on youtube I read the comments and started googling overclocking routers like mine. Apparently with the dd-wrt firmware I already have on my router, my version can be brought from 200mhz to 300mhz. But before I start trying to wire-up a heat sink router I wanna know if its really worth it. The only advantage I've been able to find so far from google was someone said this will help the router be able to handle more connections with torrent clients. (I assume d.i.c. won't mind me talking about torrents since I mostly just use them to download legal versions of Linux)

My question is:
1.- Will overclocking to such a degree accomplish anything else, speed wise?
2.- Would I even be able to notice such a difference with torrents?
3.- Is this not worth doing?

This post has been edited by Israel: 21 December 2008 - 08:32 PM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

#2 MorphiusFaydal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 43
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,376
  • Joined: 12-May 05

Re: Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

Posted 22 December 2008 - 04:10 AM

If you can hit your bandwidth cap with the torrents you have running now, why bother potentially breaking your router?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 born2c0de  Icon User is offline

  • printf("I'm a %XR",195936478);
  • member icon

Reputation: 186
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,673
  • Joined: 26-November 04

Re: Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

Posted 22 December 2008 - 05:58 AM

Quote

1.- Will overclocking to such a degree accomplish anything else, speed wise?
2.- Would I even be able to notice such a difference with torrents?

Nope and nope, but if there are many devices connected to the router which are accessing the internet simultaneously, you might notice a difference but since Ethernet is a first-come, first-served based protocol, it really wont make a noticeable difference.

Quote

3.- Is this not worth doing?

Just because something doesn't accomplish anything shouldn't stop you from doing it. Try it for fun, you'll even learn a few things while you're at it. Just be prepared for your router to pack-up in case something goes wrong.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Israel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 821
  • Joined: 22-November 04

Re: Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

Posted 23 December 2008 - 01:36 AM

Well, I went ahead and tried overclocking without adding any fans, like in the video I linked. 250mhz worked fine, but when I went up to 280 I bricked it. My router is basically a hub now. But I did some research and it seems pretty easily fixable. Unfortunately I'm 3 states away from it now.

I did think I saw a real slight increase in my overall torrent speed before I bricked it. What Born2Code said about ethernet is correct. But like I said I was using the router as wireless. I know the router will still act in a first-come first-serve basis, but it is a different protocol than ethernet. Certain rules do not apply on a WLAN that do on a LAN. I'm not going to deny this may have been just my imagination, but I have seen people on the net claim this does help with torrents.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6505
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,476
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

Posted 23 December 2008 - 01:45 AM

View PostIsrael, on 23 Dec, 2008 - 02:36 AM, said:

250mhz worked fine, but when I went up to 280 I bricked it. My router is basically a hub now.

My understanding of bricked is that a device no longer functions. So does it just not route traffic, or does it not boot?

View PostIsrael, on 23 Dec, 2008 - 02:36 AM, said:

Certain rules do not apply on a WLAN that do on a LAN.

Such as? I have the understanding that Ethernet is still Ethernet, regardless of the physical layer. Is this not correct?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 MorphiusFaydal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 43
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,376
  • Joined: 12-May 05

Re: Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

Posted 23 December 2008 - 06:18 AM

View Postno2pencil, on 23 Dec, 2008 - 01:45 AM, said:

View PostIsrael, on 23 Dec, 2008 - 02:36 AM, said:

Certain rules do not apply on a WLAN that do on a LAN.

Such as? I have the understanding that Ethernet is still Ethernet, regardless of the physical layer. Is this not correct?

So was I. Now, remember that it's been a few years since my Cisco training, but I was under the impression that 802.11a/b/g/n and 802.3*(all types) were data link layer protocols.... The actual routing of traffic, and the first come first serve is at layer 3: the network layer. AKA: IP (Internet Protocol).

Now I may be routing on the wrong layer, but the fact remains that 802.* are layer 2 protocols, and the behaviour you're describing is at level 3 or higher... Which is a completely different set of rules.

( /disjointed, tired commentary )
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 dbasnett  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 117
  • View blog
  • Posts: 646
  • Joined: 01-October 08

Re: Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

Posted 24 December 2008 - 09:33 AM

wifi is CSMA / CA
ethernet is CSMA / CD
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Israel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 821
  • Joined: 22-November 04

Re: Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

Posted 13 January 2009 - 05:48 AM

All I know is that certain things like man in the middle attacks work differently on wireless than hard-wired. On wireless you can you can change your mac and ip to the target. But I understand that this would never happen on a wired network, as far as switch sending information to 2 different boxes with the same mac address. But you can do that with wifi.

Other than that I don't really know any other differences.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6505
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,476
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Overclocking Wifi Router, Is it worth it?

Posted 14 January 2009 - 02:20 AM

View PostIsrael, on 13 Jan, 2009 - 06:48 AM, said:

On wireless you can you can change your mac and ip to the target.

But you can do this on wires as well. Do you have any references, because I would like to read more on this.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1