Lets nail this once and for all!

• (4 Pages)
  • +

54 Replies - 32040 Views - Last Post: 26 February 2013 - 11:12 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Which language is best?

Posted 06 July 2010 - 11:24 AM

Good read, I certainly know the languages I like and for the moment sticking to them works really well.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• If at first you donít succeed, call it version 1.0
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 July 2010 - 01:11 PM

Ok I know that this is the same thing that this thread was made to stop..
But I just can't decide where to start..
I am absolutely new to Web development (so new that i don't know the difference between HTML and HTTP) However i am an absolute master in VB.net and also indulge in C#. I was wondering if there was a web development language that was similar to these two. I am absolute beginner in web development so any help is appreciated.

P.S.> Don't -rep me i have worked so hard to get the rep i currently have
Thanks...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 July 2010 - 12:16 PM

Couldn't have said it better myself. I work in an agency where the primary web language is ASP Classic, but one of the agency's premiere sites is ColdFusion. They constantly ask me if ColdFusion is better than ASP or PHP and I tell them that they are all equally capable or have to explain that I can't do "this or that" on the ASP site because I don't know enough ASP and that it can be done in ColdFusion because I know how to do it. So again, thank you for laying it out there in the open.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 July 2010 - 12:35 PM

Great thread :)
Thanks a lot!

-Frinny
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#35 Dormilich  Icon User is online

• 痛覚残留
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 July 2010 - 09:24 PM

View PostbiggerB, on 07 July 2010 - 08:11 PM, said: