9 Replies - 1820 Views - Last Post: 05 January 2009 - 06:17 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

direction of collision?

Post icon  Posted 23 December 2008 - 11:48 AM

I'm working on a pong game using SDL with C++ and although everything is going fairly smoothly without a hitch, I have yet to actually get a good collision response(?) method working without problems showing up.

Right now I'm simply inverting the X velocity of my pong ball whenever it comes into contact with either of the paddles. This is problematic because when it hits the top part of the paddle, the ball goes inside of the paddle and spazes out.

I've tried several methods to see which direction the ball hit the paddle at, but every single one comes up dry.
(my various attempts can be found here).

none of them worked at all (even the last one that has the words success by it).

Does anyone have a suggestion to remedy the problem I'm having? I'm not very good at maths (which is evident by those pictures) and some of the methods I've found online seem needlessly complex.

EDIT: NVM, I found a much much simpler solution.

This post has been edited by mastersmith98: 23 December 2008 - 12:51 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: direction of collision?

• Isn't a volcano just an angry hill?
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: direction of collision?

Posted 24 December 2008 - 08:47 PM

If you solution isn't this already, you could have also subtracted the velocity vector of the ball to the object on impact with anything at all at any direction and then reverse it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Segmentation fault
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 24 December 2008 - 08:55 PM

View Postmastersmith98, on 23 Dec, 2008 - 01:48 PM, said:

I'm working on a pong game using SDL with C++ and although everything is going fairly smoothly without a hitch, I have yet to actually get a good collision response(?) method working without problems showing up.