7 Replies - 1130 Views - Last Post: 27 December 2008 - 11:11 AM

#1 steevo301  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 07-September 08

Audio Failure After Hardware Upgrade

Posted 26 December 2008 - 02:55 PM

Hi everybody... I added 3 gigs of RAM and an ATI Radeon 4760 graphics card to my HP computer (with Vista) yesterday. It all works fine. The computer recognizes them and things are running smoothly, but now I have no audio at all. The speakers do nothing, and the computer now doesn't even recognize headphones like it used to. I've checked every audio setting I know of, and it all seems like it should work fine.

One thing I've noticed is that when I hover over the speaker in the system tray, it says "Digital Output Device (HDMI)", and says it's working fine. I don't remember that from before the upgrade (though I could be wrong), and I feel like that could be part of the problem. Do I need to change the hookup?

Can anyone help me out here? Thanks!

This post has been edited by steevo301: 27 December 2008 - 11:02 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Audio Failure After Hardware Upgrade

#2 MorphiusFaydal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 43
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,376
  • Joined: 12-May 05

Re: Audio Failure After Hardware Upgrade

Posted 26 December 2008 - 03:32 PM

That's the sound through your video card. You need to go into your audio settings and change the audio device back to whatever your sound card is.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 steevo301  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 07-September 08

Re: Audio Failure After Hardware Upgrade

Posted 26 December 2008 - 03:39 PM

Could you please tell me where to go for that? I'm kind of lost here.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 n8wxs  Icon User is offline

  • --... ...-- -.. . -. ---.. .-- -..- ...
  • member icon

Reputation: 972
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,878
  • Joined: 07-January 08

Re: Audio Failure After Hardware Upgrade

Posted 26 December 2008 - 03:45 PM

Read the specs on the card. It has 7.1 Audio Channel Support built in.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 steevo301  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 07-September 08

Re: Audio Failure After Hardware Upgrade

Posted 26 December 2008 - 03:53 PM

View Postn8wxs, on 26 Dec, 2008 - 02:45 PM, said:

Read the specs on the card. It has 7.1 Audio Channel Support built in.

Yes, it does say that. I just don't know what it means. I'm just looking for a way to get my speakers working again.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 n8wxs  Icon User is offline

  • --... ...-- -.. . -. ---.. .-- -..- ...
  • member icon

Reputation: 972
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,878
  • Joined: 07-January 08

Re: Audio Failure After Hardware Upgrade

Posted 26 December 2008 - 06:31 PM

On XP Home, open the Control Panel and then the Sounds and Audio Devices panel:

Attached Image

The Audio tab has a place to select the Sound Playback Default device.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 MorphiusFaydal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 43
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,376
  • Joined: 12-May 05

Re: Audio Failure After Hardware Upgrade

Posted 26 December 2008 - 11:56 PM

View Postn8wxs, on 26 Dec, 2008 - 03:45 PM, said:

Read the specs on the card. It has 7.1 Audio Channel Support built in.

Which is completely useless if you're not plugging the card into a TV over HDMI. Hence his asking us to help him change it back.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 steevo301  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 07-September 08

Re: Audio Failure After Hardware Upgrade

Posted 27 December 2008 - 11:11 AM

Thanks n8wxs, but I'm running Vista. I've gone to the screen where it seems like I shold be able to choose between audio devices, but that's kind of useless at the moment, as the only option is the HDMI device. Here's a screenshot:

Posted Image

I've also gone to the device manager to look for a sound card, but I can't find it. Here's a screenshot of that:

Posted Image

If anyone can tell me what I'm doing wrong, I'd really appreciate it!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1