6 Replies - 1724 Views - Last Post: 09 January 2009 - 06:46 PM

#1 markjnj  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 122
  • Joined: 27-October 08

Anyone using an Eee PC to program?

Posted 28 December 2008 - 06:38 AM

Hey all, I Was considering getting a 1000HA that I could take around w/me on campus, I just wanted to know if you could use it for programming, and if it's capable of handling programming programs and tasks. Thanks!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Anyone using an Eee PC to program?

#2 Martyr2  Icon User is offline

  • Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

Reputation: 4337
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,137
  • Joined: 18-April 07

Re: Anyone using an Eee PC to program?

Posted 28 December 2008 - 09:57 AM

Well you can pretty much program on any machine these days. As a general rule I try to avoid the Eee PCs altogether just because they are the low end version notebooks that don't really have much power. However I don't see any reason why you couldn't run the software needed to write and compile code. Especially since it is loaded with windows XP so that you could easily do things with the .NET framework.

You shouldn't have a problem running java, ruby either. Might get a little slow if you are doing some hardcore programming and processing, but really it is a fully functional laptop that can do everything a regular laptop can do.

I don't think it is really an issue. Should be just fine. :)

This post has been edited by Martyr2: 28 December 2008 - 09:58 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 ayman_mastermind  Icon User is offline

  • human.setType("geek");
  • member icon

Reputation: 126
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,860
  • Joined: 12-December 08

Re: Anyone using an Eee PC to program?

Posted 28 December 2008 - 10:32 AM

The Eee can also be loaded with linux such as the Eee pc 900 here you can find more information about the Asus Eee Pc http://en.wikipedia....iki/ASUS_Eee_PC
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 homemade-jam  Icon User is offline

  • Gabe's Nemesis
  • member icon

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,300
  • Joined: 17-March 08

Re: Anyone using an Eee PC to program?

Posted 28 December 2008 - 12:38 PM

Got mine with Linux - running eclipse on it right now, no problems although haven't tried compiling anything big!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Tom9729  Icon User is offline

  • Segmentation fault
  • member icon

Reputation: 180
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,641
  • Joined: 30-December 07

Re: Anyone using an Eee PC to program?

Posted 28 December 2008 - 11:57 PM

It's normal x86 hardware, of course you can program on it.

The only reasons I don't really program on mine are:
* The small screen
* Keys are scaled/arranged differently that any keyboard I've ever used

Dagger3D (my WIP game engine that has been neglected as of late :)) compiles and runs fine on my Eee 701 though.

The 1000h has a 1.6 ghz processor and comes with 1 gb of ram. I wouldn't use it for gaming, but as long as you can get used to the small screen/keyboard I don't think you'll run into much else it can't do.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 ayman_mastermind  Icon User is offline

  • human.setType("geek");
  • member icon

Reputation: 126
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,860
  • Joined: 12-December 08

Re: Anyone using an Eee PC to program?

Posted 29 December 2008 - 12:42 AM

actually i was thinking also to buy one with the linux, it is relatively cheaper than other laptops, and i can carry it with me on campus due to its small size(since i have lots of books to carry) ,i can surf the internet from it, and install a small IDE such as JCreator and a gui maker and use it in programming classes :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 cfoley  Icon User is online

  • Cabbage
  • member icon

Reputation: 2002
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,163
  • Joined: 11-December 07

Re: Anyone using an Eee PC to program?

Posted 09 January 2009 - 06:46 PM

I've got a similar machine (Advent 4211) running Windows XP and I use it to program Java in Eclipse and NetBeans just fine. I recommend going with a Windows XP version. When I was shopping for mine, identical machines running Windows and Linux were selling for the same price. I asked for a discount on the Linux box on account of Linux being free and was refused. Go Windows and if you need or want Linux put it on yourself.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1