6 Replies - 5090 Views - Last Post: 03 January 2009 - 04:40 AM Rate Topic: -----

• Lux Ex Tenebris
  • member icon

• View blog

best way to string compare for loop test?

Post icon  Posted 01 January 2009 - 11:21 PM

Hi guys I'm new in the C# forum, first post of any kind I think, and a total beginner in C# (background in C and newbie in C++ also). I'm reading my beginner how to book and jumping ahead of the lessons and I have a quick question for you.

I'm making a super simple (IE cheesy) text game and found out early that I can't get away with using '==' to test a char or string value, at least not without something more added to the line of code.

My book hasn't covered anything about if statements so I totally experimented and came up a quick test that worked in my program and I want to see if this is considered 'acceptable' to test for char or string values or if there is a standard way to do this that I haven't seen or thought of yet.
static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            String cont = "y";
            String state1 = "y";
            String state2 = "n";

while(cont.Equals(state1))
            {
                Console.Clear();

String playerName;
                //do lots more still stuff

//ask for continue state
              Console.Write("Would you like to try again?  Enter y or n: ");
              cont = Console.ReadLine();}
              }
       }

This post has been edited by badjava: 01 January 2009 - 11:31 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: best way to string compare for loop test?

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: best way to string compare for loop test?

Posted 01 January 2009 - 11:42 PM