Text based game in OOP

pick a language (OOP)

• (3 Pages)
  • +

39 Replies - 8884 Views - Last Post: 12 January 2009 - 07:58 PM Rate Topic: -----

• Lux Ex Tenebris
  • member icon

• View blog

Text based game in OOP

Post icon  Posted 03 January 2009 - 05:28 PM

It couldn't be easier right, making a text based adventure game. That's what I'm thinking anyway so I'm playing around with this on C# as I learn my way around the VS IDE.

As I get past the initial stage and first few choices of directions for the player to head out I realize it is at least a little more complicated than I at first thought.

If I don't use some form of OOP and just go 'top down' I'll have huge ugly stacks of code in nasty never ending cascades of 'IF' statements.

I'm thinking if I come up with a way to break this out at least to separate functions I can break it up in zones and pass off to the proper function when the user hits a boundary.

I am really brand new at OOP programming and would like to hear if anyone else has tried this and how you went about implementing it. I don't want anyone to do the coding for me, I am still working on understanding the full implications of OOP and the best way to design this game.

What about a 'Zones' class with member functions for each zone in the game and the main function can just call the right member function passing along the couple of vitals stats the player has. Does that sound like I am getting warm as to the best way to do this?

I would really like to hear what other people have done or if you even know of a good link that covers the subject pretty well that would be cool too.

For a simple text based game like this I'm thinking the subject is mostly language independent since the OOP principles would hold true whether in C#, Java or VC++.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Text based game in OOP

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Text based game in OOP

Posted 03 January 2009 - 06:02 PM