5 Replies - 2195 Views - Last Post: 03 February 2009 - 02:00 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Advice Needed - Switching Careers in a Down Economy

Post icon  Posted 07 January 2009 - 02:01 PM

I am an architect (the type that designs buildings!) with more than ten 15 years experience in my industry. When things are good it's a fantastic job but every ten years or so when the downturn comes it devastates the whole industry. The last time this happened I made a decision to get rid of my financial obligations and living debt free for a decade has been an immensely liberating experience. So 2009 comes around, credit crunch and I find I'm still not immune to the situation. So here the thing: I'm seriously thinking about sitting things out this year and getting a qualification in programming so that I have an alternative in the downswing. The question is what should I go for?

For those that think this bloke has lost the plot you may be right, but let me just say in my defence that I have actually done quite a few man-years of vb.net and other API programming in the architectural context writing software for various applications eg. automated stadium design, construction simulation and all kinds of glueing together disparate CAD, design and graphics apps. (I would be very defensive in showing anybody sample code but it gets the work done!) The point is I have a fairly good idea of how this kind of stuff works but I know that this will be inadequate to be considered outside the architectural environment.

So help me out here gents. I can invest 12 months and spend some money but I need to lay some foundation in that time. Is MSCAD the way to go or are there better alternatives?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

This post has been edited by toxicvoxel: 07 January 2009 - 03:42 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Advice Needed - Switching Careers in a Down Economy

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon