• Last »

72 Replies - 6652 Views - Last Post: 08 February 2011 - 11:19 AM

#1 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Incompetent Programming Teacher

Posted 09 January 2009 - 08:14 AM

Currently, I am a high school sophomore enrolled in a specialty center for Information Technology at my high school. Students are required to take Geometry Honors (if they haven't already taken it), and a project management class. In addition to these classes, I've gotten special dispensation to take the Introduction to Java class because I am already fairly proficient in Java. Unfortunately, the same teacher teaches both these classes (Project Management and Java), and I have in 2 blocks in a row. This teacher is utterly incompetent, and only teaches us "That Exists!" in project management. In Java, he can kind-of teach the syntax, but he can't teach logic, and doesn't know the vocab./reserved words. For example, he defined the reserved word private as causing a method or field to be invisible to everything.

Before winter break, he gave my Java class the option of writing a program or taking a test. The people that couldn't figure out the program (3/4 of the class) took the test and scored between 45-77. I looked at the test, and I thought it was easy (as was the program in my opinion), but that didn't send up a red flag to the teacher that he wasn't teaching. If I haven't said so already, I already am familiar with 3/4 of the curriculum for my Java class, and I'm making 95+ in both those classes.

I've talked to the Center chairman as well as my guidance counselor about this, and she got the administrator overseeing the center involved. However, my parents think I should just deal with him and try not to make an enemy of a teacher. Frankly, I don't care if I piss him off or not because I already know most of what he's teaching and I can teach what I don't know to myself.

What do you all think I should do?