Making My Own Operating System

Im Thinking On Making Making My own Operating Syetm

• (5 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »

69 Replies - 24825 Views - Last Post: 19 April 2012 - 10:52 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Making My Own Operating System

Posted 23 January 2009 - 03:35 AM

[font=Comic Sans Ms][size=5]
i was wondering if anyone could help me when making my own operating suystem im quite new to making my own Programs and i was wondering if anyone had any tips im currently working my way through the sams C++ in 24 hours book
also is C++ a good language for making operating systems
thanks!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Making My Own Operating System

• Expert Schmexpert...
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Making My Own Operating System

Posted 23 January 2009 - 09:31 AM

How much programming experience do you have?
C/C++ is probably one of the better choices if you want to make your own OS.
It's not exactly a thing you create overnight though.
You should check up on things like processes and threads to begin with.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• lost in compilation
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 23 January 2009 - 09:42 AM

A good first step before creating your own OS would likely be to look over the Linux kernel documentation and attempt to make some changes of your own. There are many VM programs that can help you make this easier in case you make a mistake.
(I know from experience it isn't fun to re-install your Linux OS because of a missing semi-colon)
Once you are comfortable with this, you can either begin to design your own, or build a Linux based OS, depending on your comfort level and how complex you want the end result to be.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• En man från Sverige!

• View blog

Posted 23 January 2009 - 09:55 AM

View Postjoepay, on 23 Jan, 2009 - 02:35 AM, said: