is jquery the right tool for the job? (ajax)

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 1761 Views - Last Post: 27 January 2009 - 02:11 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 27 January 2009 - 08:32 AM

Im a php coder and new to the world of javascript and I am wondering if someone familiar with jquery can tell me if it would be the right tool for task I would like to undertake.

In short, what I have is a database table that contains a list of items. Each item in the database table has an ID field and a parent ID field. This means that each record is either a top level item or a child item to an existing item in the table.

Using php I query the database and collect all the top level items (ie everything with a parent ID of 0) and present this to the user in an html dropdown.

Using a simple jquery ajax call the id of the selected item is handed out to another php script which does another database query and collects all the items that have a parent ID equal to the one chose in the initial dropdown presented to the user and in turn build another dropdown that is presented to the user.

The above works well but I am in a situation where there may be additional levels under those presented by the ajax built dropdown but being new to javascript and jquery I cant quite figure out if or how I can basically have created nested ajax dropdowns.

To further clarify here is an fictional example of the data I am working with.......

Autos - ID 1 - parentID 0
ford - ID 2 - parentID 1
chevy - ID 3 - parentID 1
F150 - ID 4 -parentID 2
4wheel drive - ID5 - parentID 4
2wheel drive - ID6 - parentID 4
1500 - ID7 - parentID 3
4wheel drive - ID8 - parentID 3
2wheel drive - ID9 - parentID 3
boats - ID10 - parentID 0
paddle boats - ID11 - parentID 10
motor boats - ID12 - parentID10

Tree view of the above data

Autos
->ford
->->f150
->->->4wheel drive
->->->2wheel drive
->chevy
->->1500
->->->4wheel drive
->->->2wheel drive
boats
->paddle boats
->motor boats