<a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

<a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE, when t

Page 1 of 1

13 Replies - 24976 Views - Last Post: 15 February 2009 - 11:04 PM

#1 utjal  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 02-February 09

<a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 02 February 2009 - 11:56 PM

<a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE, when this link is clicked nothing happened.


when you placed the cursor over the link the following link appears in the status bar

file:///D:/filename.txt

But once u clicked nothing happens. but if you copy the sortcut and paste in another IE browser it will open that file.

Can anyone help me why its not working

I tried with all the target tags available. _self, _blank ....

This post has been edited by utjal: 03 February 2009 - 12:00 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5191
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,899
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:09 AM

Can you post the code for that entire line?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 utjal  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 02-February 09

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:33 AM

View Postno2pencil, on 2 Feb, 2009 - 11:09 PM, said:

Can you post the code for that entire line?



<a href="<#= tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link #>" target="_blank"><#= tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].name #></a>
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5191
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,899
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:38 AM

Why can't you just link to tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link, why are you using < # in the html link?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 utjal  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 02-February 09

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:48 AM

View Postno2pencil, on 2 Feb, 2009 - 11:38 PM, said:

Why can't you just link to tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link, why are you using < # in the html link?



Because thats the way we can get the value of a particular variable in Teamworks 6.0.

Actually here all the codes are written in java. which we cant access directly through HTML... I think so
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5191
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,899
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:52 AM

The global picture : More information is needed.

The small picture (html) : The value you are trying to use in your href (<#= tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link #>) holds no real meaning, & that's why the href doesn't work. As far as the html code is concerned, <#= tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link #> is meaningless.

My guess (& this would be coming from a PHP perspective) is that the value for <#= tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link #> needs be evaluated prior to writing the href line.

If that is the case, then you'll need to provide us with a bit more detail as to the global picture, & we'll probably move this topic to the Java section.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 utjal  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 02-February 09

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:52 AM

View Postutjal, on 2 Feb, 2009 - 11:48 PM, said:

View Postno2pencil, on 2 Feb, 2009 - 11:38 PM, said:

Why can't you just link to tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link, why are you using < # in the html link?



Because thats the way we can get the value of a particular variable in Teamworks 6.0.

Actually here all the codes are written in java. which we cant access directly through HTML... I think so


<a href="<#= tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link #>" target="_blank"><#= tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].name #></a>


Even i replace the above <#= tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link #> with D:\filename.txt

but in vain nothing actually happens
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5191
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,899
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:54 AM

As long as the file actually exists, then this should work:

<a href="file://D:\filename.txt" target="_blank">Text File</a>

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 utjal  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 02-February 09

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:56 AM

sir you misunderstood what i said...

as mentioned before i said when we place the cursor over the href its showing the correct link which means <#= tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link #> does hold some value..

moreover when you copy the link and place in another browser it works fine
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5191
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,899
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:59 AM

Does it work w/ another browser like FireFox?

If so, my guess would be that for security reasons IE7 is not allowing the local file to be opened.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 utjal  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 02-February 09

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 03 February 2009 - 01:01 AM

can you provide some links where its mentioned that due to security reason its being blocked..

one more question why its not prompting any alert some sort of this if its not opening or allowing the file to open
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 neville  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 09

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 13 February 2009 - 09:22 AM

Hi Utjal

try the code listed below:
<a href="http://www.google.co.in" target="_blank">Visit Google </a>

You can replace "http://www.google.co.in" with the actual path of the file you wish to link.
REGARDS AND THANKS
NEVILLE

View Postutjal, on 2 Feb, 2009 - 10:56 PM, said:

<a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE, when this link is clicked nothing happened.


when you placed the cursor over the link the following link appears in the status bar

file:///D:/filename.txt

But once u clicked nothing happens. but if you copy the sortcut and paste in another IE browser it will open that file.

Can anyone help me why its not working

I tried with all the target tags available. _self, _blank ....

This post has been edited by neville: 13 February 2009 - 09:24 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 neit  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 15
  • View blog
  • Posts: 187
  • Joined: 13-February 09

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 13 February 2009 - 12:19 PM

When you view the source code in IE or firefox what does it out put?

Can you also print:
tw.local.caseData.relevantDocuments[i].link

to see what its value is?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 abhay_bc  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 15-February 09

Re: <a href target ="_blank"> is not working in IE plese h

Posted 15 February 2009 - 11:04 PM

Atleast one of the reasons is that IE blocks cross frame / cross domain access. If you put everything on a server, it treats everything from the same domain and allows the HREF and access to the pages. But when you put all on your disk, domain for the parent page and the child page ( to be opened through HREF ) is treated as different and thus IE blocks it .. this is to avoid issues like a malicios page reading your hotmail email, just because you have opened both the sites ( malicious site and hoptmail site ) at the same time. I still do not know exactly why it does not show any message like it shows "Access denied" when using window.open() for the same reason , but here are some links that may help ...


http://msdn.microsof...028(VS.85).aspx

http://www.velocityr...e-location.html


Specific to href - same issue .. same answer .. You need to run it locally as a server-based site, not as a disk-based site

http://www.devnewsgr...topic65320.aspx
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1