Do you have a Laptop?

If yes, which one?

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

22 Replies - 2314 Views - Last Post: 06 February 2009 - 05:13 PM

#1 b.ihde  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C for life
  • member icon

Reputation: 44
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,070
  • Joined: 29-September 08

Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 01:28 AM

I want to buy a Laptop, never had one before..

I m thinking about to buy a Dell Studio 17.. Donīt know if this one is available in USA...
A friend said, he got many problems with Dell and he would suggest me to buy a Sony..

What do you think?

Which one should i buy?? Any Ideas?

Oh and i wonīt pay more than 900$!! And it s not for gaming, but programming!!

Thank you for answers!!

Ben

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Do you have a Laptop?

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5382
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,350
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 01:45 AM

My 1st Laptop was an Acer in '96 : Piece of TRASH!
My 2nd Laptop was a Dell Latitude in '98(ish?) It was a refurbished unit & lasted me 9 years. The friend I sold it to still uses it! Ran Slackware 3.6
My 3rd Laptop was a Dell Latitude 366mhz D600. It runs FreeBSD 7 & I use it for portable coding (such as the Great Train Network)
My Current & most used laptop is a Gateway MA2A running Slackware 12. I believe it's a single core. It's pretty much a piece of shit. A customer dropped it off for screen repair & there was also damage to the hard drive. After the repair they decided not to pay for it & told me to *in so many words* keep it. If I had to pay for it I would never have bought it. It runs hot, very hot, & it's big & clunky.

I was looking into getting a Lenovo T80, but I lost interest when other projects came up.

Of all of the laptops that I've ever had in my shop, Dell seems about the most sleek, while HP seems about the most rugged.

The one bit of advice I can offer is when you buy it, buy it from the manufacturer. If you ever need to return it for any reason, you return it to the manufacturer! If you buy it from some middle man store like Best Buy, you return it to the middle man. Just something to think about.

Best of luck, let us know how it works out!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 b.ihde  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C for life
  • member icon

Reputation: 44
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,070
  • Joined: 29-September 08

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 02:03 AM

Thank you very much for you post!!

Atm i work with a Sony Vaio.. I can buy it for cheap if i want.. It depends on the price...
But it has only 1024 mb ram.. That s not enough he?

IBM is another possibility, but pretty expensive too..

Hope to see more posts and suggestions :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 KYA  Icon User is offline

  • g++ jameson.cpp -o beverage
  • member icon

Reputation: 3116
  • View blog
  • Posts: 19,153
  • Joined: 14-September 07

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:36 AM

I have an emachines laptop from 2003 :)


It's still running strong.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Nykc  Icon User is offline

  • Gentleman of Leisure
  • member icon

Reputation: 731
  • View blog
  • Posts: 8,644
  • Joined: 14-September 07

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:39 AM

I had an HP Laptop that lasted 8 years.
I now own a Dell Inspiron 1500 series and love it. It's a dual core running Ubuntu. Came with Vista had it about a year now and still runs strong and you would think I just got it out the box.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 BigAnt  Icon User is offline

  • May Your Swords Stay Sharp
  • member icon

Reputation: 101
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,392
  • Joined: 16-August 08

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:58 AM

I would recommend the Sony Vaio I used to have one and I never had any problems with it.

Now I have an HP, but that comes with my tuition, so I sold the Sony as I had no need for 2 laptops. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6092
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,612
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 08:02 AM

I have a MacBook Pro, which I would heartily recommend, but it's not in your budget...sorry :(
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 b.ihde  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C for life
  • member icon

Reputation: 44
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,070
  • Joined: 29-September 08

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 08:24 AM

@JackOFAllTrades :(

Thank you again for your replys! I guess i will take a Dell (Vostro 1710) maybe 1510 with more power..
I more likely to have more power than a bigger screen ;)

Donīt know yet... i will wait for some other replays, but till now the DELL leads :)

This post has been edited by b.ihde: 04 February 2009 - 08:25 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 Nykc  Icon User is offline

  • Gentleman of Leisure
  • member icon

Reputation: 731
  • View blog
  • Posts: 8,644
  • Joined: 14-September 07

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 08:26 AM

I would never recommend anything Mac, not even to the guy banging my wife while I am at work! ;)

just my $0.02
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 tdubs3891  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 06-January 09

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 11:49 AM

Most lap tops lately have been made to look fancy, but mine is nothing fancy at all. It's a Lenovo Think Pad, and I have yet to regret buying it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 Locke  Icon User is offline

  • Sarcasm Extraordinaire!
  • member icon

Reputation: 521
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,596
  • Joined: 20-March 08

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 12:50 PM

I have an HP Pavilion dv6000. I LOVE IT. Dual Core processor, 2GB RAM, the list goes on.

I also Dual Boot Ubuntu. ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 bodom658  Icon User is offline

  • Villiage Idiom
  • member icon

Reputation: 113
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,123
  • Joined: 22-February 08

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 01:05 PM

Dell XPS M1530 running Windows 7 Beta and Ubuntu
Intel Core Duo 2.2 GHz
4 Gb RAM
nVidia 8600 GeForce w/ 256 MB dedicated Video RAM
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 PsychoCoder  Icon User is offline

  • Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

Reputation: 1642
  • View blog
  • Posts: 19,853
  • Joined: 26-July 07

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 01:22 PM

I have a Dell XPS M1730 (recent upgrade) 17" 4 GB DDR2 Intel Core2 Duo 2.4 GHZ NVIDIA SLI GeForce 8700MGT, wife has a 17" Toshiba Satellite Intel Core2 Duo 2.2 GHZ 3 GB DDR2
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 xCraftyx  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 258
  • Joined: 13-September 08

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 02:27 PM

I have the new 13" macbook. It's awesome, but also out of your budget :(. Anyway my second choice when i got this was a Gateway: M Series or UC Series
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 Locke  Icon User is offline

  • Sarcasm Extraordinaire!
  • member icon

Reputation: 521
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,596
  • Joined: 20-March 08

Re: Do you have a Laptop?

Posted 04 February 2009 - 03:31 PM

View PostxCraftyx, on 4 Feb, 2009 - 03:27 PM, said:

I have the new 13" macbook.


I'm sorry. :P
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2