10 Replies - 1095 Views - Last Post: 12 February 2009 - 08:08 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

msgbox problems

Posted 10 February 2009 - 04:37 PM

hi all i am VERY new to this java/javascript and i have a problem on my new site i have designed i have a side_menu that gets loaded and that side_menu is just a set of links now i dont need every link (at the moment) to go anywere and before you say it i cant cut the links down as the site just wouldnt look right and out of shape so i would like to put a msgbox in my page so if a user clicks one of the links that DO NOT have a page to forward to it just displays a msgbox that says link aint used yet.. someting on the lines of..

<a href=>
<script type="text/javascript">alert("This link is not yet active!")</script>Website
</a>

now this works but it also displays the message box when the page loads and that is not what i need so is there a way i could stop it showing when the page loads??

also can i make the msgbox title say my site name and not [javascript application]

thanks for you time reading

TADS

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: msgbox problems

• member icon

• View blog

Re: msgbox problems

Posted 10 February 2009 - 04:51 PM

onclick

Hope this helps!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 10 February 2009 - 04:55 PM

i can do it with a button not a problem..

but i have a link (not a button) and im not sure how to do this

thanks for the reply
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• member icon

• View blog

Posted 10 February 2009 - 04:56 PM

<a href... onclick="thing()" >

I hope this gives you a push in the right direction to put 2 and 2 together!

Let me know how things turn out!

This post has been edited by pr4y: 10 February 2009 - 07:23 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 10 February 2009 - 05:06 PM