Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 27918 Views - Last Post: 05 March 2009 - 09:57 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

styling asp.net menu with css from a template

Posted 22 February 2009 - 09:45 AM

hello,

i'm developing a web site in asp.net 3.5 w/ c# 2008 for a local non-profit. i'm fairly new to asp.net and css, and since i don't have much of an eye for graphic design, i'm using the Multiflex-3 template from 1234.info as a base/starting point.

the problem is that this template uses a <ul> to define items in its menu structure, but i want to use asp.net's built-in menu control to pull pages from an .xml file.

here is the existing menu structure:

<!-- Navigation Level 2 (Drop-down menus) -->
		<div class="nav2">

<!-- Navigation item -->
		  <ul>
			<li><a href="index.html">Overview</a></li>
		  </ul>

<!-- Navigation item -->
		  <ul>
			<li><a href="#">Page Layouts<!--[if IE 7]><!--></a><!--<![endif]-->
			  <!--[if lte IE 6]><table><tr><td><![endif]-->
				<ul>
				  <li><a href="layout1.html">Layout-1 (1-col)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="layout2.html">Layout-2 (2-col)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="layout3.html">Layout-3 (2-col)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="layout4.html">Layout-4 (3-col)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="layout5.html">Layout-5 (3-col)</a></li>									
				</ul>
			  <!--[if lte IE 6]></td></tr></table></a><![endif]-->
			</li>
		  </ul>		  

<!-- Navigation item -->
		  <ul>
			<li><a href="#">Header Layouts<!--[if IE 7]><!--></a><!--<![endif]-->
			  <!--[if lte IE 6]><table><tr><td><![endif]-->
				<ul>
				  <li><a href="header1.html">Header-1 (T+M+B)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="header2.html">Header-2 (T+M)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="header3.html">Header-3 (T+B)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="header4.html">Header-4 (M+B)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="header5.html">Header-5 (T)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="header6.html">Header-6 (M)</a></li>
				  <li><a href="header7.html">Header-7 (B)</a></li>
				</ul>