9 Replies - 1004 Views - Last Post: 01 March 2009 - 09:29 AM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Which would you recommend to a novice?

Posted 22 February 2009 - 03:08 PM

As a mere novice I was wondering if perhaps, you who are considered as seasoned pro's, in the world of programming would advise which language to 'major' in. That is to say, I have a choice between making either C# or VB.Net to be the main language for which I intend to pursue Microsoft Certification...and I can think of no better place to seek sound advice than DIC. So, in anticipation of such advice, many thanks indeed!!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Which would you recommend to a novice?

• using System.Linq;
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Which would you recommend to a novice?

Posted 22 February 2009 - 03:15 PM

Basically, both VB.NET and C# are based on the same 'foundation' - .NET Framework, so if you are quite familiar with one of them, it won't be a problem to switch to another. It all depends on which one is easier for you. And I never heard people 'majoring' in a specific language.

Bottom line, try both -- when you will see that one of them is easier for you or you can develop more effectively with one rather than another, pick that one. I am using both C# and VB.NET to develop my projects, as some tasks can be performed a bit different in both of the languages. Nobody can tell you what language to learn unless you try it and see for yourself what advantages and disadvantages it has. Especially if you plan to pass the Microsoft Certification, you have to be sure that you will be comfortable with building applications using that specific language.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 22 February 2009 - 03:41 PM

Many thanks, Core. As for 'majoring'...it does perhaps sound a bit ridiculous, but I really used the word in an attempt to lay emphasis upon the matter. Keep well, my American friend, God bless.
Was This Post Helpful? 0