Programmer knowledge must have for .NET

What functionality app wise is a must for .NET?

Page 1 of 1

11 Replies - 2407 Views - Last Post: 13 March 2009 - 02:32 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programmer knowledge must have for .NET

Post icon  Posted 23 February 2009 - 02:27 PM

I have been a mainframe programmer for 20 years (COBOL,DB2,CICS,etc.) and the last 4 years in VB. I moved to Florida and have had a very difficult
time finding a job in the Orlando area. I have chosen to learn the .NET environment and C#, ASP.NET etc. to get up to speed to become more marketable.

My question is, what application functionality (know-how) is a must or most popular in todays client server environment? For instance, A system that verifies security
upon logon, queries SQL server databases to display data in a grid for user selection or add / update / delete functionality? Also what is more popular, windows environment for screens or the Web (or web services)? Your opinions would be appreciated as out of all that can be learned, I want to focus on the important ones.

Thanks in advance!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programmer knowledge must have for .NET

• using System.Linq;
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programmer knowledge must have for .NET

Posted 23 February 2009 - 09:42 PM

Basically, every aspect of the .NET platform is important and can be applied in a wide range of applications. The developer works with lots of classes, handling database connections, information exchange by networks, application interactions, web services and many more. You can't just focus on something like SQL connections. The fundamental knowledge is the understanding on how the programming language works. You may also want to study the .NET classes, to find out what operations you can do by using the built-in classes instead of writing your own.