how to make php based menu bar

Page 1 of 1

8 Replies - 4376 Views - Last Post: 07 March 2009 - 02:37 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

PHP menu

Post icon  Posted 25 February 2009 - 08:28 PM

Hi everyone,
I am totally new to the site and have basic html programming knowledge. I am a graphic designer trying to learn some web stuff.
I have a friend whose website I'd like to built. She runs a spa and the idea is pretty basic -the website would have around 20-30 pages.
I thought of making it as html / css, but the amount of pages made me think it should be php.

If I understand php concept well, it is used (one of the basic uses) when you have some parts of the website repeating on all of the pages. In this case we would have a menu, RSS feed and a contact form - these elements would stay the same / repeat on all the pages...would 'modules' be right word for it?

So I was hoping someone can give me hints / tutorial on how to make a php menu / RSS feed /
Is it that I make / style the menu as html first and then save it as a php file?
Then on each page within header's div add some php code that calls this menu.php page?

As I said, I am really new to php ))

Cheers
Alimdar

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: PHP menu

• member icon

• View blog

Re: PHP menu

Posted 25 February 2009 - 08:34 PM

What you are looking for here is the <?php include("file.php"); ?> function. The advantage of this is the fact that instead of having to modify 20-30 static pages, you can modify your include files.

Here is an example of a totally dynamic site:

<?php

// Contains global variables, styles, and functions
include("library.php");

// Contains the page header (navigation, banner, ect.)
include("header.php");

// Determines what page the user is on,
// and what content to deliver to the page.
include("content.php");

// Contains the footer of the page
include("footer.php");

?>