Page 1 of 1

simple c++ calculator create a simple calculator that allows you to calculate whole numbers Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Post icon  Posted 02 March 2009 - 12:51 PM

Right... I will give you the necessary info to do this. If you know enough about c++ to do this sort of thing yourself this tutorial is not for you. I do not claim that this code will work with every compiler. It however does work with the GNU compiler collection

without further a do.

Creating this calculator is a simple and fun way to get you going with a program that is extensible and can come into actual use. Yes a useful program that the almost absolute beginner can write. All you need to know is how to use cin, cout and have an idea about variables and if statements.

To start off you need to make a new c++ file. If you're using an IDE like code::blocks then just create a new project. and at the top (if it isn't already there) put

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

since this is the only library being used the namespace will make work easier. from there we can begin the main method. we start by declaring all of the variables. in the turorial we will be using the integer (int) and the charcter (char) variables. The integer can be changed later to add functionality.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;
int main()
{
	 char cmenu;
	 char coperator;
	 int ifirstnum;
	 int isecondnum;
	 int y;
	 int i;
	 i = 2;
	 y = 5;
}

As you can see all of these variables (with the exception of y) has a descriptive name. You should do that to all of your variables as it makes your code more readable. Y is not descriptive as it shares a purpose that does not require such a name.