5 Replies - 916 Views - Last Post: 04 March 2009 - 11:54 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programming in visual c++

Post icon  Posted 03 March 2009 - 09:02 AM

hi masters...!!
I am a mechanical engineer and I want to create a program which help in calculations while designing. I have some ideas about it. I know borland c++ in an average level, but in visual c++ ???
There is a lot of templates -win32, windows console app, forms and more and more. Which template should I use to create a program ? I wrote the same code as in borland c++ in visual c++ but it shows a lot of error while compiling....

Any one please tell me the basics of visual c++ 9.0 express edition
thankyou :D

This post has been edited by ratheesh05124: 03 March 2009 - 09:04 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming in visual c++

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming in visual c++

Posted 03 March 2009 - 02:12 PM

Depends on what you want to do. If you want a Windows GUI, you want win32. If you want to use the windows forms toolkit, choose windows forms (also comes with a snappy little gui builder). If you just want a plain old console "black box" application, then just select "Empty Project" or Console App. It might help if you post your code.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Saucy!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 03 March 2009 - 02:21 PM

I'm also guessing if you used Borland you probably used old, antiquated header files declarations, like #include <iostream.h>, and Borland-specific ones like #include <conio.h>. You would need to get rid of the Borland-specific ones, and change the old ones to drop the .h (i.e., #include <iostream>), which is how we refer to standard C++ headers in modern times.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 04 March 2009 - 11:40 AM

View Postpolymath, on 3 Mar, 2009 - 01:12 PM, said: