• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 3621 Views - Last Post: 22 March 2009 - 10:12 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Working in a team

Post icon  Posted 06 March 2009 - 06:44 AM

Right. I want to point out at the start of this topic that I'm not asking for any help regarding a school project, I am however a student.

Second, I am not sure where to post this, so I thought that the Corner Cubical might be the right place, if not, I hope that this topic can be moved.

Having that said. I am a student and I've come to realize that there is something we're not learning in school; how to work in teams. It struck me while I was sitting and doing the casual home economy program with the integrated card game and calculator feature :rolleyes:

We are learning how to work in an OOP environment and how to think when structuring programs. Currently we're focusing on C#. Now, when I work on a project I go through the normal phases of structuring and planning and eventually I come to the point where it's time to actually start programming.
When I got to this point in my current crazy project it struck me that this project(as all other projects I do) was planned only for one person to do. I was gonna do all the programming, noone else.

I can only suspect that when a company decides to develop a new program that they don't put good ol' Bob infront of a computer and tell him to write it all himself. There is probably a whole team, or several, that do the final coding.
My question is simple. How is this done in general?

I'm having a hard time finding information on this on the net, maybe since I can't figure out a proper keyword to search for.
The thing I'm really having trouble to understand is how many programmers merge their code together?