Is there a reason?

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 933 Views - Last Post: 13 March 2009 - 05:19 PM

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Programming Habits

Posted 13 March 2009 - 01:00 PM

I've got a few questions about other people's code.

One thing that I've noticed is that some people will put their code in three files, one header file defining the class, one to define the methods, and one to implement them. Others only use two pages, one for the class definition and its methods, and the other page for the implementation. Lastly, some people (including me) just shove everything into one page. Is there an advantage to any of these besides less cluttered code?

Another thing I've noticed is that some people will use this
using std::cout;
using std::endl;

and so on. I find it easier to do this
using namespace std;

Why bother using the first method?

I'm a self-taught programmer, so I'm not sure why people do these things...

This post has been edited by ericr2427: 13 March 2009 - 01:00 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming Habits

• Gentleman of Leisure
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming Habits

Posted 13 March 2009 - 01:06 PM

using namespace std; is making use of all the namespace std, where as the above example is only using cout; and endl;

I have also seen programmers just typing
std::cout <<"Hello";
right in their code.

Personal preference I guess for the most part but also certain compilers interpret it differently.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 13 March 2009 - 01:07 PM

Moved to Corner Cubical :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• (cons :dic :head)

• View blog

Posted 13 March 2009 - 01:16 PM